Go Down

Topic: Array's (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

SRaja001

Hi everybody,
I am a newbie to the arduino/C/C++ world.  I am trying to store points into an array, and it wont let me do this code:

void loop()
{
 temp1 = digitalRead(2);
 time = millis();
if(temp1 == 1)
 {
   for(int i=0;i<50000;i=i+1)
   {
     int buff = templ;
     Serial.print(buff, DEC);
   }
 }

}

I am trying to store 50000 points from pin2, but only if it read HIGH.
I would appreciate any help on this subject.  Thank you.

dilbert98122

Feb 15, 2010, 04:37 am Last Edit: Feb 15, 2010, 04:41 am by spday Reason: 1
First off, you don't have enough memory to create an array that large.

50000 elements would require a minimum of 50000 bytes for chars or bytes.  Int is 2-bytes, so 100000 bytes.  Even the Arduino Mega has only 8192 bytes, and keep in mind that is shared with all your other variables and other data.

I'm not sure why you are trying to store only the highs in an array.  Since the digitalRead only returns 0 or 1, storing the 1's isn't very meaningful.  You're just going to end up with an array of 1's.

Also you can't print your array like that....  well.... maybe you can, but it won't be what you expect.

SRaja001

I'll change it to store less data. I am only storing one's for now to test my code, I am going to need to take timing information from another source later and the I just want to make sure that I can use the arrays properly.  Thanks

dilbert98122

Something more that makes this not work:
Code: [Select]
for(int i=0;i<50000;i=i+1)
  {
    int buff[i] = templ;
    Serial.print(buff, DEC);
  }