Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino ethernet webclient php script and mysql  (Read 58035 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

Can somebody help me out as I can't see the answer to my problem.

I'm running an Ethernet Shield with a thermistor and wish to add the values to a mysql database. I know the php script works as I can insert a number instead of (celsius)"); and then run the script and the number appears in the database. My problem is with the sketch which works accept it wont pass the data to the php file which lives at /var/www/ard_log/update.phpThermometer0()
Here is the sketch:
Code:
#include <SPI.h>

#include <WString.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

#define READING_PIN 0
/*
      Simple Ethernet Test

        Arduino server outputs simple text to browser

      The circuit:
      * Arduino Duemilanove
        * Arduino Ethernet shield
        * Basic FTDI breakout 5V
        *LED connected to GND and digital pin 4 via resistor
      
        By Minde
      http://www.sciencprog.com/
*/

byte mac[] = { 0x90, 0xA2, 0xDA, 0x00, 0x11, 0xAC }; //physical mac address
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 19 };                  // ip in lan
byte gateway[] = { 192, 168, 1, 1 };                  // internet access via router
byte subnet[] = { 255, 255, 255, 0 };                   //subnet mask
Server server(80);                                      //server port
byte sampledata=50;            //some sample data - outputs 2 (ascii = 50 DEC)            
int ledPin = 4;  // LED pin
char link[]="http://www.scienceprog.com/"; //link data
String readString = String(30); //string for fetching data from address
boolean LEDON = false; //LED status flag
//#################################################
   double R1 = 10000.0; //resistance put in parallel
    double V_IN = 5.0;
    double A = 1.129148e-3;
    double B = 2.34125e-4;
    double C = 8.76741e-8;
    double K = 9.5; // mW/dec C – dissipation factor
    double SteinhartHart(double R)
    {
    // calculate temperature
    double logR  = log(R);
    double logR3 = logR * logR * logR;
    return 1.0 / (A + B * logR + C * logR3 );
    }
//#################################################
void setup(){
//start Ethernet
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip, gateway, subnet);
//Set pin 4 to output
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);  
//enable serial datada print  
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop(){
// Create a client connection
Client client = server.available();
  if (client) {
    while (client.connected()) {
//#############################################
    double adc_raw = analogRead(READING_PIN);
    //Serial.println(adc_raw);
    double V =  adc_raw / 1024 * V_IN;
    //calculate resistance
    double R_th = (R1 * V ) / (V_IN - V);
    double kelvin = SteinhartHart(R_th) - V*V/(K * R_th);
    int celsius = kelvin - 273.15;//was double but changed to int to remove decimal places
    Serial.print(celsius);
    Serial.println();
    client.print("Temp.");
    client.print(" is ");
    client.print(celsius);
    client.println(".C");
    client.println("GET /http://192.168.1.20/ard_log/update_db.php?celsius=");
    client.println(celsius);
    client.println(" HTTP/1.1\r\n");
    client.println("Host: http://192.168.1.20");
    client.println();

    delay(1000);
//##############################################
         //clearing string for next read
          readString="";
          //stopping client
          client.stop();
            }
          }
        }
and here is the php:
Code:
<?php
//Connect to database
$con mysql_connect("xxxx""xxxx""xxxx");
if(!
$con)
 
   &#123;
 
   die('Could not connect: ' .mysql_error());
 
   &#125;
mysql_select_db("1stClassElec"$con);

mysql_query("INSERT INTO device_1(temp) VALUES (celsius)");

mysql_close($con);
?>
Any help would be appreciated as I've spent hours on this problem
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 11:00:34 am by xsilvergs » Logged

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Here is my latest attempt but it still doesn't work.
database name = 1stClassElec and the table is temp_1
Code:
#include <SPI.h>
#include <WString.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#define READING_PIN 0
/*
      Simple Ethernet Test

        Arduino server outputs simple text to browser

      The circuit:
      * Arduino Duemilanove
        * Arduino Ethernet shield
        * Basic FTDI breakout 5V
        *LED connected to GND and digital pin 4 via resistor
      
        By Minde
      http://www.sciencprog.com/
*/

byte mac[] = { 0x90, 0xA2, 0xDA, 0x00, 0x11, 0xAC }; //physical mac address
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 19 };                  // ip in lan
byte gateway[] = { 192, 168, 1, 1 };                  // internet access via router
byte subnet[] = { 255, 255, 255, 0 };                   //subnet mask
Server server(80);                                      //server port
byte sampledata=50;            //some sample data - outputs 2 (ascii = 50 DEC)            
//int ledPin = 4;  // LED pin
//char link[]="http://www.scienceprog.com/"; //link data
String readString = String(30); //string for fetching data from address
//boolean LEDON = false; //LED status flag
//#################################################
    double R1 = 10000.0; //resistance put in parallel
    double V_IN = 5.0;
    double A = 1.129148e-3;
    double B = 2.34125e-4;
    double C = 8.76741e-8;
    double K = 9.5; // mW/dec C – dissipation factor
    double SteinhartHart(double R)
    {
    // calculate temperature
    double logR  = log(R);
    double logR3 = logR * logR * logR;
    return 1.0 / (A + B * logR + C * logR3 );
    }
//#################################################
void setup(){
//start Ethernet
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip, gateway, subnet);
//Set pin 4 to output
//  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);  
//enable serial datada print  
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop(){
// Create a client connection
Client client = server.available();
  if (client) {
    while (client.connected()) {
//#############################################
    double adc_raw = analogRead(READING_PIN);
    //Serial.println(adc_raw);
    double V =  adc_raw / 1024 * V_IN;
    //calculate resistance
    double R_th = (R1 * V ) / (V_IN - V);
    double kelvin = SteinhartHart(R_th) - V*V/(K * R_th);
    int celsius = kelvin - 273.15;//was double but changed to int to remove decimal places

    Serial.println();
    client.print("Temp.");
    client.print(" is ");
    client.print(celsius);
    client.println(".C");
    client.print("POST /http://192.168.1.20/ard_log/update_db.php?temp=");
    Serial.print("GET /ard_log/update_db.php?temp=");
    client.print(celsius);
    Serial.print(celsius);
    client.println(" HTTP/1.1");
    Serial.println(" HTTP/1.1");
    client.println("Host: http://192.168.1.20");
    Serial.println("Host: http://192.168.1.20");
    client.println("User-Agent: Arduino");
    Serial.println("User-Agent: Arduino");
    client.println("Accept: text/html");
    Serial.println("Accept: text/html");
    client.println();

    delay(1000);
//##############################################
         //clearing string for next read
          readString="";
          //stopping client
          client.stop();
            }
          }
        }
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 01:20:16 pm by xsilvergs » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9671
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If the arduino server can pass the info back to a browser, then it is probably a PHP or mysql issue.
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 220
Posts: 13836
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Think you are messing up Client and Serial ... Keep them separated!

update: (looking again at your code made me wonder)

Do you intend to let the Arduino act as a server from which data can be GET?
or do you intend to let the Arduino act as a Client that POST data to another webserver.


Code:
   while (client.connected())
    {
    // keep it simpler ..
    int celsius = 100;

    Serial.println();
    [glow]client[/glow].print("Temp.");  // Serial??
    [glow]client[/glow].print(" is ");
    [glow]client[/glow].print(celsius);
    [glow]client[/glow].println(".C");
    client.print("[glow]POST [/glow]/http://192.168.1.20/ard_log/update_db.php?temp=");
    client.print(celsius);

    Serial.print("[glow]GET [/glow]/ard_log/update_db.php?temp=");  // [glow]GET vs POST difference[/glow]

'
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 02:12:56 pm by robtillaart » Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I imagine I need a client as my idea was to have the Arduino write to the mysql database, there could be more than one Arduino  sending the same sort of data. When I wish to view any results I would just read the results from the database in a web page.

The Serial.print was only to check to right data was being sent but I've just tried GET and Post but still nothing appears in the database.

I still don't understand why nothing is written to the database. :'(
Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 220
Posts: 13836
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK,

First you have to fix the webserver to work properly. Build two php pages, one with a form in which you can fill in two fields - time and temperature - and a second one to process the data posted and stores it into a database.  

- http://myphpform.com/php-form-tutorial.php


If the form works you can let the Arduino's do the posting.  An example of the layout of a POST command can be found here:

- http://www.jmarshall.com/easy/http/#postmethod

Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

robtillaart

Can you explain why I need a form as I want this to be automated and have the Arduino send data direct to the mysql database?

Surely the Arduino can do that using GET or perhaps PUT?
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 631
Posts: 50096
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
have the Arduino send data direct to the mysql database?
That it can not do. There is nothing in MySQL that listens to the serial port. You can have the Arduino with Ethernet shield do GET, PUT, or POST, depending on which is easier for you to understand/get working. Some other application, like a PHP script, needs to get the data, and construct the SQL commands to insert the data in the database.
Logged

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

robtillaart

Perhaps I've confused things more than I'm confused.

I'm trying to send data using client.print via ethernet from an Arduino client to my home web server which runs on a laptop. The serial.print is just so I can see what's happening using the "Serial Monitor".

I'm trying to get the Arduino to pass data to update_db.php which should load it into the database 1stClassElec table device_1.

Sorry, and grateful for your help
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9671
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I'm trying to send data using client.print via ethernet from an Arduino client to my home web server which runs on a laptop. The serial.print is just so I can see what's happening using the "Serial Monitor".

I'm trying to get the Arduino to pass data to update_db.php which should load it into the database 1stClassElec table device_1.

Well, the issue may not be with the arduino, but with the setup on your server. Below is some arduino ethernet test code that sends a GET request to my apache web server for the contents of the text file, and the apache web server sends the text of the file back to the arduino to verify that the ethernet shield is working. You could append your data to the URL as a query_string to send to your server. You will have to develop the data handling programs for your server.


Code:
//zoomkat 11-13-10
//simple ethernet client test code
//for use with IDE 0021 and W5100 ethernet shield
//modify the arduino lan ip address as needed
//open serial monitor to see what the arduino receives
//push the shield reset button to run client again

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 102 };
byte server[] = { 208, 104, 2, 86 }; // zoomkat

Client client(server, 80);

void setup()
{
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("starting simple arduino client test");
  Serial.println();

  delay(1000);

  Serial.println("connecting...");

  if (client.connect()) {
    Serial.println("connected");
    client.println("GET /~shb/arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");
    client.println();
  } else {
    Serial.println("connection failed");
  }
}

void loop()
{
  if (client.available()) {
    char c = client.read();
    Serial.print(c);
  }

  if (!client.connected()) {
    Serial.println();
    Serial.println("disconnecting.");
    Serial.println("==================================");
    Serial.println("");
    client.stop();
    for(;;);
  }
}
 
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

zoomkat, thanks for info. I've created file below, please check it through in case I'm making a mistake.
Code:
//zoomkat 11-13-10
//simple ethernet client test code
//for use with IDE 0021 and W5100 ethernet shield
//modify the arduino lan ip address as needed
//open serial monitor to see what the arduino receives
//push the shield reset button to run client again

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

byte mac[] = {0x90, 0xA2, 0xDA, 0x00, 0x11, 0xAC };
byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 1, 19 };
byte server[] = { 192,168,1,20 }; // zoomkat

Client client(server, 80);

void setup()
{
  Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("starting simple arduino client test");
  Serial.println();

  delay(1000);

  Serial.println("connecting...");

  if (client.connect()) {
    Serial.println("connected");
    client.println("GET /http://192.168.1.20/var/www/arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");
    client.println();
  } else {
    Serial.println("connection failed");
  }
}

void loop()
{
  if (client.available()) {
    char c = client.read();
    Serial.print(c);
  }

  if (!client.connected()) {
    Serial.println();
    Serial.println("disconnecting.");
    Serial.println("==================================");
    Serial.println("");
    client.stop();
    for(;;);
  }
}
  


and the responce I get back
Code:
starting simple arduino client test



connecting...

connected

HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found

Date: Sat, 18 Dec 2010 08:57:55 GMT

Server: Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu)

Vary: Accept-Encoding

Content-Length: 312

Connection: close

Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1



<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
<html><head>
<title>404 Not Found</title>
</head><body>
<h1>Not Found</h1>
<p>The requested URL /http://192.168.1.20/var/www/arduino.txt was not found on this server.</p>
<hr>
<address>Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu) Server at 127.0.1.1 Port 80</address>
</body></html>


disconnecting.

==================================
The arduino.txt file does exist.
I hope someone can help, thanks.
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 631
Posts: 50096
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Code:
   client.println("GET /http://192.168.1.20/var/www/arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");
Why is there a slash in front of http?
If you paste the string starting with http in a browser, is the file found?
Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 220
Posts: 13836
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Code:
client.println("GET /http://192.168.1.20/var/www/arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");

==>

Code:
client.println("GET /arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");

you allready connected to the server, port 80 == HTTP, /var/www is probably the docroot of your webserver...

- http://www.esqsoft.com/examples/troubleshooting-http-using-telnet.htm
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

South Coast UK
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 41
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@ PaulS. If I pasta http://192.168.1.20/arduino.txt into a browser it is found and shows my inserted text.

@robtillart.
Quote
client.println("GET /arduino.txt HTTP/1.0");
gives:
Code:
starting simple arduino client test



connecting...

connected

HTTP/1.1 200 OK

Date: Sat, 18 Dec 2010 13:48:52 GMT

Server: Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu)

Last-Modified: Sat, 18 Dec 2010 08:55:24 GMT

ETag: "1fbee-5-497ab729b1eef"

Accept-Ranges: bytes

Content-Length: 5

Vary: Accept-Encoding

Connection: close

Content-Type: text/plain



test


disconnecting.

So is this working?

If so what is wrong with my code which stops me writing to the database?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 145
Posts: 9671
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
If so what is wrong with my code which stops me writing to the database?

The arduno is working just fine. The issue is on your server and what application you are using with apache to interpet what is sent and the manipulaton of your database. If the server is on a linux box, then you need to have some linux compatable application to perform the database operations when apache gets the incomming request. In the past I think Perl was often used as a CGI application. PHP might have a version for linux.
Logged

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
Jump to: