Go Down

Topic: I2C hang (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

SamBrownADK

I have 2 Uno R3 boards talking back and forth to each other via I2C (simple messages). All is well. No problems. When I pull power on either board (to simulate a fault in the wire, dead battery, failed board, etc) the other board hangs at the wire.endTransmission() point. This is the exact spot it hangs. I can;t even get a return code: just freezes. If I power up the "broken" board and chatter returns to normal like nothing happened.

I have tried many solutions I have read about here (including WSWireLib.h which Uno R3 does not like for some reason) and still can not get past this problem. I am a beginner and do not have an IT background. Any suggestion in the right direction is appreciated.  All the threads I have read suggest there is a new / updated lib to deal with this exact problem but nothing seems to replace wire.h properly.

chucktodd

I have 2 Uno R3 boards talking back and forth to each other via I2C (simple messages). All is well. No problems. When I pull power on either board (to simulate a fault in the wire, dead battery, failed board, etc) the other board hangs at the wire.endTransmission() point. This is the exact spot it hangs. I can;t even get a return code: just freezes. If I power up the "broken" board and chatter returns to normal like nothing happened.
You need to understand the electrical interface of the I2C bus.

On the I2C bus, there is one set of pullup resistors supplying power for the bus. To send data over the bus the connected devices (both master and slave) pull these signals to GND.  So normally the Bus(SDA,SCL) are at VCC.

Now most digital electronic device have input protection circuits on each pin.  One of the simplest methods of protecting an input from overvoltage is to connect a diode from the input pin to VCC.  The purpose of this diode is to route any voltage on the input pin that exeeds Vcc to VCC.