Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: IDE Keyboard Shortcuts  (Read 1924 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 594
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm on a Acer 5570 laptop running Ubuntu 7.04, I have a USB keyboard but the problem is on both my USB keyboard and laptop keyboard so I'm pretty sure it's the software's error.

When I press CTRL-Z, CTRL-X, CTRL-C, CTRL-V, it will actually type in a Z, X, C, or a V into my code, now I have to use the right click to copy and paste.

This is especially annoying since CTRL-Z is undo and it does undo my last action, but then it puts a Z in my code, and the next time I undo, it only undos the Z.
Logged

Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Which version of Java are you running?  I think this only happens with Java 1.6; don't ask me why Sun decided to break keyboard shortcuts.  Can you use an older version of Java instead?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 594
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

would downgrading affect any other programs?

i'm trying to check everything to see if it requires java 6
« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 11:09:03 pm by frank26080115 » Logged

Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

Wuppertal/Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 895
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Which version of Java are you running?  I think this only happens with Java 1.6; don't ask me why Sun decided to break keyboard shortcuts.  Can you use an older version of Java instead?
Hi, I don't think Sun is to blame here. The Arduino-IDE is the first app I have seen where shortcuts are broken when using the 1.6JRE. I'm using a variety of java-applications which use a source-code from JRE1.3 - 1.6 . All of them still work fine (keyboard-shortcuts wise).
I think this issue needs some attention in the short term. JavaRE 1.5 will probably disappear very quickly once the open-sourcing of Java takes off.

Eberhard  
Logged

Forum Administrator
Cambridge, MA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
*****
Karma: 11
Posts: 3538
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yea, you're probably right.  This behavior actually comes, I believe, from Processing, which the Arduino environment is based on.  I'll see what I can do about getting it fixed there as well (so I can port the fix to Arduino).
Logged

0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 594
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've uninstalled Java 1.6 and installed Java 1.5, now the Arduino IDE won't run, I've switched back now.

I've started using gnome's editor, it has autosave and a good syntax highlighting scheme.

Oh since you might release a fix soon, it'll be really nice if you guys could automatically select the virtual serial port for me, because sometimes it's there but not selected and it won't upload. It's the only serial port on my computer.
Logged

Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

Brisbane, Australia
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 593
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Definitely not 1.6's fault. Works fine for me.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 594
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What are the terminal commands used to compile then upload a sketch? I want to make a shell script that will work with another editor like gnome's editor.
Logged

Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

Brisbane, Australia
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 593
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

There is a Makefile which I believe can be used for console compiling.
Logged

Wuppertal/Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 895
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
Quote
Definitely not 1.6's fault. Works fine for me.
Which Operating System are you running?
I never tried Windows, but on Linux I have that error no matter what release of JRE 1.6 I use.
Eberhard
Logged

Brisbane, Australia
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 593
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm using Gentoo Linux with Sun JDK 1.6.0.02.

Although now that you mention it, my middle mouse button clipboard isn't working with the IDE.
Keyboard shortcuts are fine though.
Logged

Wuppertal/Germany
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 895
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks cheater,
I missed an update!

Version 1.6.0.02 works fine on Ubuntu, too.
Bad news is that this JDK-Version is not available through Adept. (Only version 1.6.00 the one with the bug!)

I'll leave a note in the playground.

[edit]
Here's the note
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Linux/Ubuntu
[/edit]
Eberhard

« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 04:06:46 am by wayoda » Logged

0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 594
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

just telling you guys, this bug is gone in ubuntu 7.10 gutsy gibbon
Logged

Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: