Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Stepper Motors/ Sensors  (Read 399 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I am still very new to this arduino stuff,

I am doing a project for Uni, where I need to run two unipolar stepper motors at the same time, but with different speeds and different  no. of steps.

How do I code them to do this?

Also how to I power these motors, do I need a different power supply to each one?

Another issue I am facing is that I have built two infra red sensors, were when the beam is crossed an LED lights up. I have wired the LEd to the Arduino to be able to detect this, however every time I wire them and turn the arduino on the sensors don't work properly, a jitter occurs in the LED light, when the beam is crossed rather than staying on continuosly. I think there is a leak of current going back to the LED from the Arduino?

How do I fix this..

Thanks alot guys

Ed

Arduino rocks
View Profile

You probably need a motor shield http://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=17&products_id=81

http://ladyada.net/make/mshield/

Example code is here http://ladyada.net/make/mshield/use.html

smiley

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Thanks alot,

Just with the code, as I said I am still new to this, but is that one for only one motor?

I need one that runs two motors, which I have attempted and I can get them to work the one after the other, not together at te same time.

I have connected them to individual pins, one to 8 and 9 and the other to 6 and 7. So I can make them do different things, but when i write the command one comes after the other and therefore they dont move at the same time??

Is there a command that allows them to start and stop at the same time e.g start with previous....?

thanks

Manchester (England England)
Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

I think there is a leak of current going back to the LED from the Arduino?