Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Sync problem with 019 but not with 018  (Read 994 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
I can flash my programs consistently with the 018 IDE but when I try 019 I have to try the upload two and sometimes three times to not get the sync error. Anyone else experience this or have some advice?

I'm using windows vista, Arduino pro 5v., Sparkfun FTDI adapter.

Thanks!
Bryon
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I occasionally got this with 0018, not had it yet with 0019

not sure as to the route cause, maybe it depends on what sketches you are running. Have they been the same ones for 0018 and 0019?

Mowcius
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Mowcius, thanks for the reply.

Yes, exact same program. If 019 doesn't load my sketch, I can immediately start 018 and it will upload without a hitch!

It's not a huge deal having to try 2-3 times with 019, but it's really bugging me! Ha!
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yeah, just another bug...

At least it works (in a fashion)  smiley-wink
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12741
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Post your PATH environment variable.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Here it is:

C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin;C:\WinAVR-20100110\utils\bin;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\10.0\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\

Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12741
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Is there a copy of AVRDUDE.EXE in either of these locations...

 C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin
  C:\WinAVR-20100110\utils\bin

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes, I have it in this one:
C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12741
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


Remove those two entries from your PATH and test.

Please let us know if it does or does not work.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks Coding. I removed the entries but it didn't seem to help. In fact, it broke 018 so I added it back in.
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12741
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


The AVRDUDE that came with Arduino 0019 is...

10/12/2007  02:12 AM         1,922,788 avrdude.exe

avrdude -v

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 11 2007 at 19:12:32
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

What version is in the "C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin" directory?

Are there any other versions on your computer?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok, I'll try that. I'm out of town until Friday, but I'll try that when I return.
Thanks.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
I somehow had AVRDUDE 5.1 in the folder. I downloaded and replace it with 5.4 and now it seems to be working! I did quite a few test uploads and so far, so good.

That was great troubleshooting. Thanks, Coding.
Logged

Global Moderator
Dallas
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 197
Posts: 12741
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


You are welcome.  You know what they say, "Even a blind hunter gets a racoon now and then."

Wait.  No one says that.  But you get the point.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: