Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 220 ohm resistor in 'FADE' example?  (Read 1327 times)
Pacoima California USA
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
  Total newbie here and I am sure that my confusion is based on my own ignorance but every LED I have tried with the 'fade' example has required that I omit the 220 Ohm resistor (red red yellow). I not sure if the Mega2560 has the pull down resistors turned on or what but no matter how many times I load the software and or swap out the LEDs I get the same result, nothing, if the 220 ohm resistor is in place. This is true even when I bypass the circuit board entirely and feed the LEDs right from the gnd and +5 pins. Admittedly the LEDs get hot fast when I wire them right to 5 volts and don't seem to be over heating when I operate them through  fade example , successfully by the way, without the 220 ohm resistor.
  By some coincidence are all of my LEDs made with internal resistors?
Thank you for any light you can shed on this.

MikePett

I am using the arduino mega 2560 and the 0022 alpha software.

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

I not sure if the Mega2560 has the pull down resistors turned on
Why don't you? They are not turned on by default, so if they are turned on, you did it.

Post your code if you don't know how to tell if you did it.

Left Coast, CA (USA)
Brattain Member
Measurement changes behavior
View Profile

220 Ohm resistor (red red yellow).

That would be in fact a 220,000 ohm resistor, must too high a value to light a led up. You need a red, red, brown resistor to equal 220 ohms.

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.leonaudio.com.au/res-code.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.leonaudio.com.au/res_code.htm&h=1018&w=686&sz=27&tbnid=eNAR-clnfWTcKM:&tbnh=150&tbnw=101&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dresistor%2Bcolor%2Bcode&zoom=1&q=resistor+color+code&usg=__hEZmxaXf7C2iMX8UMfaNU1LxHNY=&sa=X&ei=sI4aTbH5HZG8sQPo4cjMCg&ved=0CCkQ9QEwAQ