Go Down

Topic: Which Arduino or Microcontroller to Make a Robot?  (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

randomgirl98

Aug 27, 2017, 04:41 pm Last Edit: Aug 27, 2017, 05:27 pm by randomgirl98
New to Arduino looking for guidance before buying. I  am a self taught c++ programmer, now i am looking to start building new things using micro controllers.

A friend is building the mechanical part of the robot it should move using 4 to 6 wheels and it should be able to move 2 mechanical arms to pick up or do other things. I want to put simple sensors just to test new things and learn. Later on maybe add a game controller to move and manipulate the robot via wifi. I want to learn to program in arduino ide too so dont mind my c++ background.

The questions is, which board i should use? One microcontroler is better to use or two different microcontrollers or two arduinos? Or maybe should i i use raspberry pi.

Coding Badly

This is the first Arduino (compatible) board I bought...

https://www.pjrc.com/store/teensy_pins.html

It was a great choice.

However, given your goals there are far better choices.  A Raspberry Pi, for example, provides a very easy path to WiFi networking for a mere $5.

LandonW

the Arduino DUE is faster than the others and has plenty of input/outputs.

PieterP

Pretty much any Arduino can do things like turning on/off motors, reading sensors, etc. The main difference is going to be the number of Input/Output pins.
For example, on an UNO, you can read 6 analog sensors, and you can control the speed of 6 motors (using PWM). If you want to use stepper motors, you'll need 4 pins per motor, and if you want to control DC motors in two directions, you need at least two pins per motor. Add some LEDs, some sensors, WiFi ... and you've used up all pins of the UNO pretty quickly.
You could use port expanders, multiplexers or shift registers to get more I/O pins, but it's much easier to use the Arduino's own pins (for writing code and for wiring).