Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: forum is slow?  (Read 1464 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 45
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i just wanted to confirm is it my connection or is the new forum really slowing things a little bit.


thank you guys, anyways u do a wonderful job
Logged

Forum Administrator
MMX
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*****
Karma: 37
Posts: 1139
hallo kompis
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I think during the first days things will be a little slow while we are tweaking the settings. One thing is having an offline version of the forum running in a controlled environment, a different one is having one user every 4secs getting access to the database. Right now we have to figure out if our current dataplan is good enough for the new infrastructure, if mySQL is behaving and reacting quick to user requests and so on.

This will be optimal soon.

/d
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i just wanted to confirm is it my connection or is the new forum really slowing things a little bit.
I also noticed this - I was just accepting it as new stuff = new issues smiley-grin
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 43
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It's also scanning all the old forum contents for replies to users' posts.  I'd imaging that for every user this would be quite some load.

Every now and then I get a list of replies pop up for old postings.  Don't know if this is a one shot thing and it's not doing it constantly.
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It's also scanning all the old forum contents for replies to users' posts.  I'd imaging that for every user this would be quite some load.

Every now and then I get a list of replies pop up for old postings.  Don't know if this is a one shot thing and it's not doing it constantly.
Yeah I dunno but you can turn it on/off in your user options.
Logged

Forum Administrator
MMX
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*****
Karma: 37
Posts: 1139
hallo kompis
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Enotify doesn't come with that option, however you pointed out an important thing: we need to make sure the old forum is listed as read for everyone. We didn't realize when importing the database.

Good point, thanks
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Enotify doesn't come with that option
I wonder what I turned off then :p
Logged

Wigan, UK
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 18
Posts: 814
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Seems speedy enough to me.
Logged

SF Bay Area
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 10
Posts: 1235
Arduino Ninja
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You can also get caught up on all the new posts, then run down to the very bottom of the main forum page and click "Mark ALL Read" to stop getting notifications from the imported old forum.
Logged

Unique RGB LED Modules and Arduino shields: http://www.macetech.com/store

Austria
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 3
Posts: 260
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

an apache is running here but it is not optimized for speed!

- missing GZIP (wasting 180kb per pageload => speed lost!)
- no expire set, so NOTHING cached! (wasting ~25 of 30 http requests => speed lost!)

the admin should put a htaccess like this in the http://arduino.cc/forum/ path:

Code:
#Compresses everything:
<IfModule mod_deflate.c>
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/text text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript application/javascript application/x-javascript
</IfModule>

#sets the Cachetime to sometime from now, so the browsers cache them files!
# A604800 = week / A2592000 = month
<IfModule mod_expires.c>
ExpiresActive On
ExpiresDefault A604800
ExpiresByType text/html A0
ExpiresByType text/text A0
ExpiresByType text/plain A0
ExpiresByType text/css A604800
ExpiresByType image/gif A2592000
ExpiresByType image/png A2592000
ExpiresByType image/jpeg A2592000
ExpiresByType text/javascript A604800
ExpiresByType application/javascript A604800
ExpiresByType application/x-shockwave-flash A2592000
ExpiresByType application/x-javascript A604800
ExpiresByType image/x-icon A2592000
ExpiresByType image/vnd.microsoft.icon A2592000
</IfModule>

mod_deflate and mod_expires must be installed, but that should be an easy thing smiley-wink

on my forums this boosted the pageload time from some 5secs to below 1sec, independend from usercount!
so you can get the "instant" feeling, with just a little tweaking  smiley-cool
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 03:10:58 pm by designer2k2 » Logged


North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

an apache is running here but it is not optimized for speed!

- missing GZIP (wasting 180kb per pageload => speed lost!)
- no expire set, so NOTHING cached! (wasting ~25 of 30 http requests => speed lost!)

the admin should put a htaccess like this in the http://arduino.cc/forum/ path:

Code:
#Compresses everything:
<IfModule mod_deflate.c>
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/text text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript application/javascript application/x-javascript
</IfModule>

#sets the Cachetime to sometime from now, so the browsers cache them files!
# A604800 = week / A2592000 = month
<IfModule mod_expires.c>
ExpiresActive On
ExpiresDefault A604800
ExpiresByType text/html A0
ExpiresByType text/text A0
ExpiresByType text/plain A0
ExpiresByType text/css A604800
ExpiresByType image/gif A2592000
ExpiresByType image/png A2592000
ExpiresByType image/jpeg A2592000
ExpiresByType text/javascript A604800
ExpiresByType application/javascript A604800
ExpiresByType application/x-shockwave-flash A2592000
ExpiresByType application/x-javascript A604800
ExpiresByType image/x-icon A2592000
ExpiresByType image/vnd.microsoft.icon A2592000
</IfModule>

mod_deflate and mod_expires must be installed, but that should be an easy thing smiley-wink

on my forums this boosted the pageload time from some 5secs to below 1sec, independend from usercount!
so you can get the "instant" feeling, with just a little tweaking  smiley-cool
Oh you're good at this smiley-grin
Logged

Forum Administrator
MMX
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*****
Karma: 37
Posts: 1139
hallo kompis
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

mowcius:

you might be right, Enotify might give you that option smiley (my plan for world domination via Javascript notifications seems to be over)

designer2k2:

we had a long discussion about your proposed patch for .htaccess and our conclusions are that:

- compressing the data we send, considering the amount of requests we attend, will mean a lot of CPU waste, unless you have some studies that prove us wrong (and I bet you have them so please please pass them over) we decided to wait with that

- things are made so that they can be cached on the user side, the forum is not generating a lot of load when it comes to images, but the reference page does!!! So we might introduce this idea for the wiki --> thanks a bunch!!
Logged

Austria
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 3
Posts: 260
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

how loaded is the server now? compressing will increase the server load, but not extreme!
this is hard to predict, you will need to analyse the load and see if thats get you into trouble...

if then php will be the limit or the db, there are caching tools (like xcache) what will help you out on this  smiley-wink

for example this page while i type has 84 HTTP requests, with the mod_expire this would be reduced to around 5!
even when the stuff is cached currently, there is still a HTTP request to check the cache...
as w3c said only 2 requests per domain are paralell, that means the user will make a crazy 40 requests in series...  smiley-roll
and your server must handle all this useless requests! making load for nothing...

to test it out, take ff, install (in that order):
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/firebug/
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/yslow/
http://code.google.com/intl/de-DE/speed/page-speed/download.html

this tools will show you the pageload times, tranfered volumes, HTTP requests and much more.
get your server stats (get into ssh, "top"), look at the loads and then insert the htaccess and watch what happens...
check on the site if it works like expected, [STRG]+[F5] and look into Yslow "Statistics" there must be a significant drop in requests and page size.
if your cpu gets overloaded take the htaccess down!

i can only tell you that on my biggest forum (record ~ 10k hits per second) on a crapy shared server handled it like a charm with this htaccess (and some other things)  smiley-cool

for detailed things, pn me, for details i need your hardware and software config and some load figures...

lets make this page fly  smiley-cool
Logged


Forum Administrator
MMX
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*****
Karma: 37
Posts: 1139
hallo kompis
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That's an argument for sure.

I will check how to install those modules during Sunday (which is our lowest day) and we can then check all together if the performance improves.

/d
Logged

Austria
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 3
Posts: 260
Arduino rocks
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

did you had problems? still hoping to see things speed up here  smiley-wink
Logged


Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: