Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: PIR Sensor  (Read 1291 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys,

A query about PIR Sensors...
At the moment I'm working on a project that uses a PIR sensor, a nice and simple idea (you'd think): If the sensor detects motion the alarm sounds (at the moment i'm just testing with LEDs or a piezo buzzer). http://www.conrad.de/ce/de/product/172500/PIR-SMD-MODUL-3-12-V2-mA Thats the sensor. I'm having a problem where the sensor thinks there is movement all the time when there isn't. Whether I use the LED or piezo buzzer as the indicator of motion, they get set to HIGH the second the sensor is turned on. I have tried example programs from here as well as my own. I've given the sensor time to calibrate, even up to 60 seconds. Still, after this 60 seconds it sets the buzzer off.

Now I am a novice so its probably something relatively simple that I don't understand. However, if anyone does have any info or suggestions, can I really ask that you keep as basic/well explained as possible. Expect that I know nothing, because thats not too far from the truth!
I hope someone can help.

Arduino rocks
View Profile

Maybe it is so easy that you have missed to use a pull up R on the output? Manual suggests 22k and max 20mA (drain?) well u know what i mean, do not overload the output.

Edit: to clarify, the output is open collector.

Thanks

« Last Edit: January 28, 2011, 06:51:40 pm by swetrack » Logged

Arduino rocks
View Profile