Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Programmer on Mini  (Read 4404 times)
Stockholm
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Dear everyone,

I am a bit confused and worried regarding bootloader and programmer. I have a project (Nikon remote shutter control) which uses the Arduino Mini (04) with the ordinary bootloader that waits for about 10 seconds. If I replace the bootloader with my sketch, will my remote control start working instantely (like fractions of a second)?
If yes, do I need to change something in my sketch?

As you see, I am a beginner, will it be to difficult to use my other Arduino (Duemilanove) to function as a programmer using the MegaISP (http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/MegaISP), or should I instead spend some money and get an AVR-ISP for €30?
Will there likely be any problems using the ArduinoISP if I go via the Arduino 2009?
I don't want to brick by Mini (yet).

Advice are kindly appreciated!

Global Moderator
Dallas
Shannon Member
View Profile

If I replace the bootloader with my sketch, will my remote control start working instantely (like fractions of a second)?

Yes.

Like what?  Do you need a delay at startup?

Stockholm
Arduino rocks
View Profile

A clarification: Will I need to add some header files etc to my sketch or just upload (via programmer) and the sketch will run automatically, ie start with setup() and then loop() ?

Like what?  Do you need a delay at startup?
I don't want nor need a delay, just want it to start immediately. Preferably press a button (closes the battery) and the "take a picture" signal is sent over IR immediately (and after every n seconds as long as the button is pressed = Arduino is on).

Global Moderator
Dallas
Shannon Member
View Profile

A clarification: Will I need to add some header files etc to my sketch

I've never needed to do anything like that.  Just build the Sketch in the IDE and then upload.

or just upload (via programmer)

That's always worked for me.