Go Down

Topic: RPM Help.  (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

DaveBlackpool

Hi all. I was wondering if anyone could help with getting speed signal from a inductive type sensor. Do I need to remove the AC And Just use the DC using a rectifying diode or can I use the AC? I'm not sure how to write the code either. The trigger wheel has 14 teeth on it. Does this matter also? Any help would be great. Thank you.
Dave.

pylon

Don't you think you should tell us the exact type of sensor you're using? A wiring diagram of your current setup would help too.

DaveBlackpool

Sorry I'm new to all this. Really trying to get my head in to it.  I don't have a setup at the moment. It's a car ABS sensor. 2 wires. I'm assuming it's giving out ac/dc. I had it plugged in to analog 0 and ground and did an analog.print just to see if it would pick it up, it did but obviously not how it should of done and at the rite speed.  Thanks. 

jremington

Nov 07, 2017, 07:16 pm Last Edit: Nov 07, 2017, 07:19 pm by jremington
You will damage the analog input if you apply AC to it, or if you apply more than 5.5V (on a 5V Arduino).

A relatively safe circuit for experimenting with inductive sensors is shown below. Two 10K resistors "bias" the sensor output at 2.5V, and R3 helps to protect the analog input from overvoltage.

Keep in mind that Serial.print is slow and limits the rate that you can collect analog data.

DaveBlackpool

Thanks.  Im assuming by spinning the wheel that I'm creating an ac/dc voltage. So don't put that in to analog?  I think I'm in over my head here. Haha.  How would I go about getting the rpm from this sensor? Cheers. 

jremington

Nov 07, 2017, 07:52 pm Last Edit: Nov 07, 2017, 07:53 pm by jremington
How would I go about getting the rpm from this sensor?
You could start by building the circuit in reply #3 and collect some data.