Go Down

Topic: How do I get this tachometer signal readable? (Read 3757 times) previous topic - next topic

Beun

Oct 16, 2013, 03:17 pm Last Edit: Oct 19, 2013, 01:50 pm by Beun Reason: 1
Hi, I am new to arduino and I have a couple of questions regarding the possibilities of a motorcycle dashboard based on arduino.

My plan is to make a TFT or LCD dashboard with the following functions:
  • Tachometer

• Speed/Odometer (also re-settable trip meter)

• Engine temperature (sensor is present)

• Time/Date

• Fuel mixture gauge lean/rich

• Battery voltage

• Fuel warning light

• Turn signal indicator

My two stroke supermoto has a high voltage output for a OEM tachometer, but I was wondering if a inductive sensor on the ignition cable would be a better alternative? For the speedometer I was thinking about a magnetic bolt in my disc brake and a magnetic relay on my fork, much like the bicycle speedometers. The fuel warning and the turn signal indicator are currently controlled by on/off switches/sensors, so I'm expecting no difficulties there.

The Fuel mixture gauge is an idea I got from the Scooterputer but I have not yet found out how this works, does anyone have an idea on how they did this?

As for the screen I was wondering what type of display has the best visibility with bright sunlight? I was thinking about a non-touch 240x320 2,4" back-lit TFT but suggestions are always welcome. I was also wondering how hard it would be to make the graphical interface, because i have only a little experience with programming/scripting.

And the final questions: what (major) parts do I need besides the arduino, the display and the clock? (I want to make a BOM for the costs) and which arduino board is the most suitable for my plans?

Thanks in advance, your help/suggestions are much appreciated! XD

PeterH

Oct 17, 2013, 02:35 am Last Edit: Oct 17, 2013, 02:41 am by PeterH Reason: 1