Go Down

Topic: Stranger Things Message Wall (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

hintonpa

Dec 06, 2017, 04:33 am Last Edit: Dec 06, 2017, 04:56 am by hintonpa
Hey there everyone,

For anyone that are fans of the show, you have probably see this project online already, or something similar.  The difference between my project and the others, is that I'm trying to scale it down for a gingerbread house.  I have it working mostly the way I want it, but I wanted to be able to send the serial text via bluetooth from my phone.  Currently, I am only able to get the results I want through Putty or the serial monitor.  Here's what I have so far:

WS2811 Individually Programmable LED's (cut down to 26 total)
Arduino UNO
HM-10 Bluetooth Module (needed for iPhone)  

This is my first project with the Arduino, so I'm not too savvy with the programming language...but I'm learning.  If anyone has any ideas on where this code is wrong, please let me know.  The original code was written by Zach Hipps, I just modified it for my needs:

Code: [Select]
/*
 * Stranger Things Message Wall
 * Written by Zach Hipps 2017 for byte sized YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/bytesized
 * Build instructions can be found at https://www.bytesizedelectronics.com/projects/how-to-make-a-stranger-things-message-wall
 * Video can be found at https://youtu.be/tG8sQMoKrb0
 * How to use:
 * -----------
 * Connect string of WS2811 LEDs (or equivient) to the arduino with the data signal going to pin 3.
 * Be sure to use a separate power supply as the arduino's voltage regulator cannot supply enough current for all these LEDs.
 * Send serial data to the program either using the serial monitor, or some external serial device (like HC-05 bluetooth module) connected to RX and TX pins.
 * Known issues:
 * ------------
 * Due to strict timing requirments from the WS2811 LEDs, the FastLED library has to disable interrupts when writing to the LEDs. This will cause some serial data to be lost.