Go Down

Topic: Soil Monitoring System (Read 288 times) previous topic - next topic

kwirk

Hello again guys! I would like to ask for your advise for i am really new to using this Arduino microcontroller and wireless transmitter/receiver module.

My project is to monitor soils' temperature, ph, and moisture with its specific feedback.
I will be using arduino Mega to be interface with the above needed sensors. My goal is to log all the data that have been read by the sensors. Since the sensors are in the field, i would just like to monitor the soil in our house and decided to wirelessly transmit the read data through a wireless tx/rx module directly to our Personal computer and save it (data logger). I also not prefer to use wifi shield technology, since we are not connected to internet.

Scenario: Sensors=>Arduino=>Transmitter module=>Receiver module=>PC

Will it be possible? Could you suggest what transceiver to use and what other things i need to understand.Please do enlighten me.
Thanks a lot. 

dave-in-nj

Dec 07, 2017, 11:27 am Last Edit: Dec 07, 2017, 11:29 am by dave-in-nj
If you have a field sensor, you can use a simple UNO and a RTC shield with SD card and do data logging.   

you can add any RF bits, lots of notes about those on here and I am sure some others will post links.

the question is about distance.  if your garden is in the back yard, you do not need to worry about distance as it will be so short.

if your garden is acres upon acres, you can create a mesh and have the furthest one send it's data to the one closer, to the one even closer and so on.

if your garden is disperse and you do not have the easy links, you can look into LoRa, somewhat new, but you can send data over long distances.

watch some youtube on people using sensors over long distances.