Go Down

Topic: counting very short but infrequent pulses with comparator (Read 2909 times) previous topic - next topic

robertadams21

Hello all,

I have a radiation detector that gives me roughly 10^5 negative signal pulses per second, each roughly 20 ns in width (Gaussian shape), and amplitudes ranging from 0 to 1 V (I can change this range, though). A few of these (<100/s) have an amplitude above a given threshold (for example, 100 mV). I would like to count how many times the signal amplitude goes above this threshold - for example in one minute or one hour.

Is it possible to discriminate and count such short pulses? Could someone kindly point me in the direction of how this should be done?

I apologize if this is a stupid question, I am not very experienced with electronics.

Thanks very much for any advice/suggestions!

oric_dan

This is not a trivial thing to do. 20-nsec pulses are "very" fast, you're talking about frequencies
in the 50 Mhz range. You will need to build a high-speed digital front-end that can deal
properly with whatever connection issues there are to the detector [ie, a 6" long wire is really
a transmission line here]. After that, maybe you could get an Arduino to count the pulses, as
100,000 pps is near the upper range for what an Arduino can do.

I would start with doing some background work on google, search on "nanosecond pulse detector".

robertadams21

Thank you for your response. I understand the difficulty, that's why I'm asking for advice. :/

I am able to accomplish the task with a so-called "timing filter amplifier", which comes in a NIM (nuclear physics instrumentation standard) module, but the cost (couple thousand) is prohibitive because I want to do it for about 100 channels.