Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: GLCD problem  (Read 2829 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Sweden
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all

I'm trying to get this GLCD to run but no luck
http://www.xmocular.com/bproduct.asp?id=97

the display lights up and but i cant see anything on it
and when i run GLCDdiags i get this do not know if it is good or bad


Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
Wr/Rd Chip Select Test
Testing GLCD memory pages
Horizonal Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Vertical Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Horizonal Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Vertical Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Full Module Horizontal Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Full Module Vertical Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Tests PASSED
GLCD.SetDot() speed (K ops/sec): 17.83
Logged

United States (Texas)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 3
Posts: 525
Arduino socks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

do you have a potentiometer hooked up between ground, vo, and the output going to the contrast pin?
Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yes
Logged

United States (Texas)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 3
Posts: 525
Arduino socks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

and when you turn it all the way in one direction does the screen start to turn black?
Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

no it does not but i can measure the wiper and i get 0 to 5v on that side so it seems to be working.

/Peter
Logged

Global Moderator
Melbourne, Australia
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 511
Posts: 19358
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well I measure my ks0108's wiper and I get -5V so yours seems to be about 10V away from an optimal value.

The third pin on the pot should be wired to the Vee pin which is around -9V, not +5V. I found that when I didn't do that I didn't see anything either.
Logged

http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

Please post technical questions on the forum - not to me by personal message. Thanks a lot.

United States (Texas)
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 3
Posts: 525
Arduino socks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

yes, these screens pretty much need a negative voltage on their contrast pin to work. thats probably your problem. if you cant find the negative output, it may not even be there. some lcd manufacturers dont include the circuit on their boards.
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 41
Posts: 4435
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
... but i can measure the wiper and i get 0 to 5v on that side so it seems to be working.

You should be measuring between 0 and some negative voltage.  Using the pin information on the data sheet in your link the ends of the potentiometer go to pins 1 and 18 and the wiper goes to pin 3.  Hopefully the '(0V)' mentioned for pin 18 is in error, otherwise you are going to have to come up with a negative supply for that end of the potentiometer.

Don
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 07:24:35 am by floresta » Logged

Sweden
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I now have a 0 to -5V on wiper still cant see anything or affect the contrast
odd
/Peter
Logged

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 41
Posts: 4435
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What voltage do you have at pin 18?

Don
Logged

Global Moderator
Melbourne, Australia
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 511
Posts: 19358
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The data sheet is here:

http://www.xmocular.com/upload_img/2007110150681065.pdf

On page 2 of that it mentions the circuit for the contrast adjustment (OK, how do I insert images onto this site and show them?).

As I read it, you connect one end of the pot to +5V, the other end to -10V, and the middle (wiper) goes to V0 (pin 3).

Also the circuit mentions Vee (the negative voltage) in  a number of places without giving a pinout for it. Maybe it is there somewhere else on the board?

The data sheet also says on page 4 that "Supply voltage for LCD (VDD - V0)" is typically 8.2V (doesn't say -8.2 but whatever). I presume if you wipe between +5 and -10 you would find -8 near the middle.

Logged

http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

Please post technical questions on the forum - not to me by personal message. Thanks a lot.

Western New York, USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 41
Posts: 4435
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
The data sheet also says on page 4 that "Supply voltage for LCD (VDD - V0)" is typically 8.2V (doesn't say -8.2 but whatever).

This would make VO about -3.2V  (5 - 8.2) with respect to GND.  The potentiometer will work either way, between +5 and the -V source or between GND and the -V source.  The latter connection will provide finer control.  The former will provide a wider range, including positive voltages.

The data sheet also shows the VDD and VSS connections reversed from many other devices so there is a possibility that is the problem, although dozer should have noticed heat and/or smoke if the power supply is backwards.

If there is a negative supply available on the pc board it is typically available at pin 18.  I would measure the voltage there (with respect to GND) to make sure. 

You have to remember that these data sheets have undergone at least one translation and possibly several.  Also they may have been edited by non-technical people and the drawings may have also been created by non-technical people.


Don
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 70
Posts: 2764
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Peter,
I'm the author of the diag sketch included in the glcd library
as well as co-author of the library.
With the diags passing, that is a very good thing.
This means that the data communications between the library
code and the GLCD is working and the memory on the GLCD passes
memory tests.
The only things not tested is the contrast circuit and the backlight.

That said, there is a potential issue around RESET that can cause this
type of issue (display not being enabled - so no pixels are visible - regardless of contrast setting).

I also noticed that you are not using an arduino pin to reset the glcd module.
(doesn't show up in diagnostic output - thanks for including that)

-->>Do you have the reset pin on the glcd hooked up to a reset signal on
      your board? (not sure which arduino board you are using)

The reason that I ask is that down low in the initialization code
if the reset pulse going into the ks0108 module is slow rising,
then I have seen an internal hardware race condition (bug) on several
ks0108 glcd modules in which the module will say reset is complete
but the internal ks0108 chips are still held in reset.

---- Gory details.......
The problem (on some glcds) is that
the reset signal is fed directly to the glcd status register
as well as holds the internal ks0108 processors in reset. If the reset pulse
rises very slowly, the reset bit in the status register goes away
before the processors are reset.
To make things worse the busy bit is held clear
when the processors are in reset state and is only set by the processors.

The first thing the low level glcd libarary code does is turn on the displays.
(128x64 ks0108 modules actually have 2 displays internally that are side by side)
If this slow rise reset condition occurs, the low level code commands to the glcd
will be lost because the low level software saw the the glcd module
was no longer in reset and was not busy, so it started talking to it.
Because the glcd processors are still in reset, the busy bit does not show
up when commands are sent to it, so it looks like they are working.

-----------------------end of details

To ensure that this is not the issue either hook up an arduino pin
to reset the module (recommended if you can spare the pin),
or make sure that the reset pin the glcd (pin 14 on your glcd)
is hooked up to a reset signal in the Arduino sp that the glcd is
reset with the arduino reset button is bashed.

(Just reviewed the code and noticed another potential issue -
Not sure why I turned off the reset status check code by default)
So... another thing that can be possible is that glcd board is slow
initilizing. Currently with all the reset issues, the code has the
RESET bit polling disabled and so it it may jump on the glcd module
too quickly if it is slow initializing.
This can occur if the GLCD.Init() is called first thing in
a sketch on slow initializing glcd board.
To turn on the reset status polling, add this line
#define GLCD_POLL_RESET
to the glcd_Config.h file down near the bottom
with the user defines.

-------------------

Another thing I noticed that seems strange is that I have dealt with
many different glcds with about 10+ different pinouts, and while
things move around and many others are also a bit "strange" or just flat
wrong, I've not run across any ks0108 modules
that didn't include the negative voltage (vee) signal, which
most modules have on pin 18.
Since you said that you have now are seeing 0 to -5 on the wiper which
should be hooked to pin 3 on your glcd, I'm assuming that the data sheet is
wrong with respect to pin 18. That it really is Vee vs Vss.

-->>But can you confirm that you see 0 to -5 now showing up on pin 3
on your glcd?
Verify this before you run down messing with the reset stuff.


------------
-- bill
Logged

Global Moderator
Melbourne, Australia
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 511
Posts: 19358
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've not run across any ks0108 modules that didn't include the negative voltage (vee) signal, which most modules have on pin 18.

Bill, the spec sheet says pin 18 is "Signal ground for LCM (GND)". If that is just a misprint (where else would Vee be?, also pin 2 is also assigned to that function) then grounding it might indeed cause malfunctions inside the unit.

Perhaps if Peter disconnects pin 18 from ground first, and then measures if it has something like -10V on it, then that might be a candidate for wiring to one side of the contrast pot.
Logged

http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

Please post technical questions on the forum - not to me by personal message. Thanks a lot.

Sweden
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 23
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for the post bperrybap

haven't had time to test more at the moment
Still think I should get some kind of response from screen when I'm turning the trim pot
but I'm probably wrong smiley
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: