Go Down

Topic: Making a 3 axle CNC machine (Read 648 times) previous topic - next topic

Railroader

Hi!

I am totaly new in this forum and just bought my first Arduino Uno.
On Youtube I saw a video made by Joop Brokking where he built a little CNC machine. I happend to have the same mechanical rigg, a PROXXON MF70 that I would like to controll digitally like he did. Joop did it using an Arduino, some stepper motors and drivers, and a few pc softwares.
For me the first qustion is about the layers of logics. What must be handled by the Arduino, what is handled by various software in the PC. What software can I download and combine into a system? E-esel(?) I have heard about. G-code looks similiar to HPGL...
I have been programming for 40 years in very different environments, microcode, assembler PLM, C etc..
My interest now is to take advantage of existing knowledge, experience and solutions to create my system. I mill lead weights for the locomotives on my modell railroad being retired and having lots of free time. Milling small tools is also done.

Regards,
Railroader

groundFungus

For my small router (Dremel) I use Grbl firmare on an Uno for the controller.  The firmware receives g code from the PC and translates the G code to stepper movements and control signals.  The Uno has a CNC shield that has the stepper drivers and connections for limit switches and other functions.

Railroader

Hi!
Thanks a lot!
I just ordered the hardware. Time of delivery is poor, 18 of mars to 5 of maj but the price is good.
Checking the software I don't find "Download" on their page but I will dig....

What pc software do You use?

Regards,
Railroader

groundFungus

I use my router for carving in wood and PC board isolation routing so my use is different than yours.   I can recommend bCNC.  It is a G code sender that has many great features.  For CAD, I use FreeCAD

Railroader

Thanks a lot!
Plenty of new stuff to get into.