Go Down

Topic: Introduction, and requests for help with high frequency pulse width modulator. (Read 4 times) previous topic - next topic

teslas-intern

Greetings all,
     I am new to the forum and new to the ARDUINO, after uploading the firmware I am blinking up a storm with a green LED I am reaching out for some help.  Anyway the reason I bought this thing was to make a pulse width modulator for a flyback transformer.  What I need is some direction for creating this code, as I have no experience with coding at all.  What I need to start, is to read a reference voltage off of a potentiometer (0-5 volts) and convert that to a frequency for the PWM, I need a range of 10kHz-100kHz, resolution is not important but if I understand correctly I get exactly 1024 values evenly spaced, more than enough...  Anyway I will also need to ready duty cycle off of another pot, from 0-50%.  Once I work out the bugs I'll have more advanced question later (like converting to half bridge and having a random mode etc.)  Thanks in advance!

MarkT

The default support in the Arduino library for PWM doesn't give you frequency control, but the hardware can do this.   I think there is probably a library or two out there that can do this, otherwise you will have to read the ATmega328 datasheet for the grizzly details - if so you want 'Phase and frequency correct PWM mode' and timer1 is the 16bit timer (drives pins 9 and 10, but I think only one of these can be used for phase/frequency mode).

The pots are easy, connect wiper to an analog pin, other ends to GND and Vcc, call analogRead().  Pots around 1k to 100k will all work.
[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

teslas-intern