Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Bootloaders for Atmega164, Atmega324, Atmega644 and Atmega1284 ?  (Read 7033 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are there arduino bootloaders for atmega164, atmega324, atmega644 and atmega1284 ?

I know there is a sanguino bootloader for the atmega644 !
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 40
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yep for some of those
Mark has done some good work on alot of chips - He should be able to assist you if you need something.

http://avr-developers.com/cputable.html

http://avr-developers.com/corefiles/index.html

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
I have sucessfully flashed an atmega 328 with the bootloader. Now I have an other problm. I would like to use a 644-20PU (44 pin). I read about sanguino and the 644 and 644p bootloader. Can somebody tell me if the bootlader for these 40 pin controllers will work with the 44 pin controller. I know, they have different pinout.
Thanks a lot!
Robert
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have a Atmega644P-20PU it has 40 pins, the Atmega644PA-20PU has 40 pins too !
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 08:32:23 am by Megaionstorm » Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

I am sorry, I just saw it is a 644-20AU!
Is there a bootloader available or can I use the one vor the 40 pin version?

Thanks
Robert
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't know.

But you can try it.
Try to transfer the bootloader to your Atmega644, then the blinkwithoutdelay Sketch !
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ok, I will try it and reply as soon as I know how it does!
thanks and a good evening!
Robert
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You can then connect a led, with a resistor, to each digital out pin.

Then you can check them with a sketch !

This show you if it react like the other atmega644 !

One led after the other !
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

good idea, I will make it this way.
Robert
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
I've been trying for hours to get the 644-20AU running with the sanguino bootloader.
I used a Duemilanove board and this method: http://www.geocities.co.jp/arduino_diecimila/bootloader/index_en.html
I had no problems flashing Atmega 328 on the Duemilanove but encountered problems with the 644:

First I connected the 4 control pins of the FT232RL with ICSP Pins of the 644 as well as 5V supply.
Reading and setting fuses worked fine. I set

low bit FF
high bit DC
and extended bit FD

Erasing and reading flash also worked without trouble.
After writing the ATmegaBOOT_644 and ATmegaBOOT_644P I got an rc -1 error although avrdude wrote the code and an error message of different files after verifying. I read it again and the hex file was not empty.

After that I conected RX/TX and 5V from the duemilanove to the 644 and tried to flash a sketch via the FTDI chip of the board but It did not work
(avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51)
Sanguino software was of course installed and sanguino selected.

Can anyone give me a hint ?

Thanks
Robert
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had in the past a equal problem:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,22205.msg166852.html#msg166852

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

When burning the bootloader then it's miso and mosi who are used for the transfer.

The sketch are transfered with rx and tx.

Try it with different speed settings in the serial monitor !
From the lowest to the fastest !
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I tried to transfer a sketch via Rx/Tx but no way.

Is there an influence on the speed rate of the sketch-transmission when changing the serial monitor settings?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

not in sync: resp=0x00

This message had give me the idea that the arduino ide and the atmega644 talks in different speed.

not in sync = not in syncronisation
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ok, but what can I do then? I assume, that changing baud rate in serial monitor does not affect baud rate during sketch upload.

I have ordered a USB to TTL cable, as suggested for sanguino, yesterday. Do you know, if there are differences between this cable and the FTDI chip on a duemilanove?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: