Go Down

Topic: Pro mini fried RAW input (Read 163 times) previous topic - next topic

bpjobin

Hi,

This is my first project here so please bear with me.  :)

It seems that I somehow fried one of my pro minis RAW input. I can still power it on via the 5V VCC input and it'll run basic code correctly. However when I power it through the RAW input nothing happens. Nothing seems physically damaged on the board hence my reluctance to replace the voltage regulator before what's actually broken. Would you guys know a way I could repair this board or am I confined to use it only through the vcc pin at 5V?

Here's the project I'm attempting to build. So far I was able to put it all together on a breadboard (minus the resistor). When I tried to make it more permanent though the board seemed to have shorted out. I have other boards available to replace it but I'd like to prevent such thing from happening again. It was powered through 12V 5A.

I'll take any advice you guys have!

Thank you! :)

jremington

Mar 19, 2018, 03:15 pm Last Edit: Mar 19, 2018, 03:18 pm by jremington
When I tried to make it more permanent
Please explain what you did.

I'll take any advice you guys have!
Avoid idiot Fritzing diagrams, as they are usually confusing and misleading. What is the black thing labeled "VREG" and what are the associated pins?

bpjobin

I meant soldering wires directly to pins on the board and on each components the same way it was wired on the breadboard prototype.

jremington

That is what I suspected. You probably have a bad solder connection, or a solder bridge shorting two connections together. Inspect everything with a magnifying glass, and check continuity/shorts with your multimeter.

bpjobin

Avoid idiot Fritzing diagrams, as they are usually confusing and misleading. What is the black thing labeled "VREG" and what are the associated pins?
It's a semiconductor. Model TIP31A.
http://www.datasheetlib.com/datasheet/317801/tip31a_mospec-semiconductor.html