Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: 16x2 LCD question  (Read 1831 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone. This is my first project with Arduino. I'm trying to interface a standard 16-pin 16x2 LCD to my Duemilanove. It turns on, but that's it. I see only 1 row of blocks when I it powers up (shouldn't there be 2?) and I got the backlight and contrast to work.

I am powering the LCD with the 5V connection on the Arduino board, and the Arduino is powered by the USB. I tried both the LiquidCrystal and SerialDisplay examples w/ version 0020. I can't get anything to show up besides this one row of blocks. I've triple-checked the wiring - its exactly as it needs to be according to the example programs.

Has anyone else here solved this problem? Could it be a bad LCD or am I missing something obvious? Is there a 'start' button on the Arduino, or...?

Any help appreciated.
Mossen

Central MN, USA
Tesla Member
Phi_prompt, phi_interfaces, phi-2 shields, phi-panels
View Profile

Show us your code and a few hi-res pics. We'll talk about your quadruple-checked circuits. If you checked it 3 times, it's time to get it checked by others.

Western New York, USA
Faraday Member
View Profile

Working in the dark here.... How did you deal with pin 5 of the LCD?

[Edit] It's barely four minutes since you posted and you've logged off already.  We could have had this solved by now.

Don
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 01:16:42 pm by floresta » Logged

View Profile

No I'm still here. I don't have any way of making a hi-res photo, but I can describe what I have as its pretty simple.

LCD pin 1 -> Arduino GND
LCD pin 2 -> Arduino 5V
LCD pin 3 -> 10k wiper middle pin (the wiper also connected to 5V and GND)
LCD pin 4 -> Arduino digital 12
LCD pin 5 -> Arduino GND
LCD pin 6 -> Arduino digital 11
LCD 7-10 -> no connection
LCD pin 11 -> Arduino digital 5
LCD pin 12 -> Arduino digital 4
LCD pin 13 -> Arduino digital 3
LCD pin 14 -> Arduino digital 2