Go Down

Topic: NRF2401 - linux to arduino  (Read 176 times) previous topic - next topic

opale7000

Apr 21, 2018, 11:04 pm Last Edit: Apr 21, 2018, 11:09 pm by opale7000
Hello arduino fans.

Let's say I have an arduino with a NRF2401 in room B.  I have a Linux based PC in room A
Is it possible to attach an NRF2401 to a Linux PC in room A to send commands to arduino in room B ?
Or perhaps Bluetooth would be a better choice?

Robin2

I believe you can get a "dongle" that allows you to connect an nRF24 to a PC but I have no experience of them.

For my own projects I connect my PC to an Arduino and connect the Arduino to an nRF24. Then I have a PC program that sends a message to the Arduino program which relays the message by wireless to other Arduinos with nRF24s.

Bluetooth may indeed be a better choice if you just want 1-to-1 communication.

I presume you are aware that Blutetooth is quite incompatible with an nRF24 even though they both use the same 2.4GHz frequency band.

...R
Simple nRF24L01+ Tutorial
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

opale7000

Apr 22, 2018, 12:12 am Last Edit: Apr 22, 2018, 12:21 am by opale7000
Using an arduino with an NRF2401 connected to PC in Room A is acceptable for sure. However I if can automate commands being sent at a certain time a day from PC then I am happy. Is this doable? Perhaps and RPI 3 is more appropriate?

All is want to automatically sent commands from  Linux PC to listening devices to turn on/off some lights. I know there are tons of devices that do this already. I have looked at sonOff and ESP8266 yet do not wish to have to go through the Internet and servers to simple controls some lights.

swe-dude

If all you need are to send out timed commands i would consider using a esp32 or esp8266 its not that hard to either use a rtc module or a ntp server to keep track of the time and sent out nrf messages.