Go Down

Topic: 120v to nixie tubes! (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Leonidas

I want to make a nixie tube watch and i recently bought 2 in-17's and i started playing with them but i can't quite figure out how to make the arduino output of 5v go to 120-180v that the nixie tube requires... im going to use 2 74141 to control them and im going to use one shift register to give the 4 inputs for each of the 74141's. Can someone help me find out how to power these and how and where the power should be applied, please and thank you! =)

Magician

You have to buy a power supply for nixie.
Loot at :
http://www.ogilumen.com/index.php
You can get idea how to put it all together from their site.
But price too high,
I'd suggest to search in i-net, I've seen as chip as 13$ power supply for nixie.

Leonidas

Well what components go into it? anything really special i wouldn't be able to buy at an electronics store? like anything i might have to buy on ebay from russia. and i want to make my own because im going to make my own pcb. and which i-net? i've never been there and can't find the url

Magician

It's pretty simple, arduino provide a digital output
to this chip (binary-decimal decoder). and nixie + resistor + power supply
display a visual performance.
I don't think you have to buy something from russian, but
their stuff could be low in price, they have produced a astonishing quantity of
74141's. during 80's and 90's, (chips o'k after 20 years of storage, warranty more than 25 years,), , with different name, you can read it
http://www.ogilumen.com/index.php
It's "K155ID1"
What I'm saying, price 65$ for power supply too high,
you can find chipper, or if money not a question, just touch them

Leonidas