Go Down

Topic: Piezo puzzle (Read 830 times) previous topic - next topic

bssackma

Hi All,

I am brand new to the world of Arduino, and am trying to get my brain wrapped around the concept of how to best use a pizeo in a little project that I would like to build.  Essentially I want to build an impact sensor that will detect a vibration and immediately respond with a loud chirp.  I have looked through the Knock tutorial, and this seems like a reasonable approach for detecting the vibration, but my question is: could I use a single piezo buzzer to both detect the vibration AND issue the subsequent chirp alarm?  Not sure how the wiring would look, but hopefully its not too complicated.

On a similar note...how sensitive are the piezo-type sensors to ambient noise vs. physical vibrations; I assume the sensitivity is tunable across a wide range?  The build will be in a very loud environment...so I need the piezo to detect a physical vibration/knock and hopefully the sound issued by the piezo will be enough to be heard over the ambient noise...

Hopefully I have not bitten off more than I can chew in terms of my first project; any words of wisdom from folks out there?

Thanks!

Grumpy_Mike

I assume the sensitivity is tunable across a wide range?

Sorry no tuning with the sensor alone.

could I use a single piezo buzzer to both detect the vibration AND issue the subsequent chirp alarm?

Yes you could, although I am not sure how loud it would be, the sensor is a deaf microphone and a mute speaker. So that might suite you. You need a current limiting series resistor and switch between an analogue input and digital output in your code.

jcarrr