Go Down

Topic: Telegraph Project from Quick-start Guide runs incorrectly (Read 3376 times) previous topic - next topic

Zoandar

I have a project built from a book called Arduino: A Quick-Start Guide, which is a Morse Code generator. It uses some library files which I also had to create from the book. All the code compiles OK, and the project attempts to run, but it isn't running correctly. It is supposed to flash an LED on pin 13 in Morse Code to display the equivalent of "Hello World", repeating every 5 seconds. But since that is kind of hard to decrypt when watching an LED I changed the statement in the program so it is just supposed to send "SM". I chose these letters because S is "..." and M is "--", so easy to determine if the sketch is working properly. However, what I am getting is simply one "." followed by one "-", repeating every 5 seconds. It seems to be a problem with a loop of some sort.

I am pretty new to Arduino, and although I have posted other sketch code on the forum this is the first project I am posting about which uses library files that I had to write, so I am not sure of the correct format for posting the whole package in this message. I guess I need to put in the entire code for the main sketch, followed by the entire code for each of the 3 library files it uses, so anyone helping  can see all the code involved?

If that is wrong, please let me know the proper way to do it. Sorry I don't have more comments, but I am still figuring out how this is supposed to work. Since I am new to this, there may have been an error in the book's listing for part of the code, and I might not have learned enough so far to be able to spot it. But I did look everything over several times.

I suspected part of the Telegraph.cpp file where it has the segment with a FOR loop beginning with

Code: [Select]

void Telegraph::send_message(const char* message) {