Go Down

Topic: Can I save GCode instuctions in a UNO running GBRL and run them stand alone?  (Read 506 times) previous topic - next topic

BobP2

Hi I'm building a CNC machine to wind lots of identical springs.  I know how to do the mechanics and wire the bits together and can work out how to write the GCode  in a laptop. I've read how to download GBRL into a UNO and should be able to sort that out, and also run the CNC  from the  GCode  in my laptop.

But when I've got my GCode and CNC machine debugged  I'd like to burn that  Gcode into the UNO so that it can be powered up and run without the laptop connected.  I can connect switches to the abort, hold, stop, reset etc  pins on my breakout board to control the machine.

Is this possible and easy to do?  My GCode program should be pretty small  -  under 100 instruction lines.

This is my first CNC machine  and first  Arduino project and I'm not a programmer so please spoon feed me.

Many Thanks (in anticipation)

BobP2

Robin2

I reckon you will need an SD Card attached to the Uno to store the GCode - unless the GCode is very short.

How many lines of GCode does your project need?

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

BobP2

I estimate 25 line of G code - but allow for 50 lines. I'm just driving 2 motors.

BobP2

Robin2

A wild guess is 25 characters per line amounting to 1250 characters.

I think you could store all that in PROGMEM (as part of the program) but there is not enough EEPROM memory.

You can't change PROGMEM while the program is running.

My own preference would be for an SD Card - much more versatile.

...R
Two or three hours spent thinking and reading documentation solves most programming problems.

Paul_KD7HB

Your proposal is a bit more complicated. The CNC controller returns messages to the PC for both errors and when to send the next G-Code line or lines.

Paul

Robin2