Go Down

Topic: Need Help to complete this code (Read 337 times) previous topic - next topic

Jeffnavin

Hi Coders,

I am totally new to arduino and to this forum, I am from class 8 looking for a project for my expo. I had this idea of automatic barrier integrated to traffic lights.

This is the idea poped on my head and i am looking for experts help to complete my code.

1. automatic traffic light system , where the R Y G LEDs goes on and off on the timing fixed

2. Now i wanted to upgrade with barrier system

3. when green is high i want the servo to rotate from say 0' to 120' - R and Y low

4. when yellow is high the servo has to move slowly from 120' to 0' - R and G low

5. once it reaches to 0' the RED LED has to be high, rest all LED should be low

Please help me at the earliest.I have written the simple code traffic light but need support to complete as per my idea.

void setup()  {

pinMode(10, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(8, OUTPUT);

}

void loop()
{
{
  digitalWrite(8, HIGH); // Turns LED on pin 13 on
delay(2500); // LED on pin 13 remains on for 5 seconds
  digitalWrite(8, LOW); //  Turns LED on pin 13 off
delay(0);}
  digitalWrite(9, HIGH); // Turns LED on pin 12 on
delay(2500); // LED on pin 12 remains on for 5 seconds
  digitalWrite(9, LOW); //  Turns LED on pin 12 off
delay(0);
  digitalWrite(10, HIGH); // Turns LED on pin 11 on
delay(2500); // LED on pin 11 remains on for 5 seconds   
  digitalWrite(10, LOW); //  Turns LED on pin 11 off
delay(0);
}

PaulMurrayCbr

Well, there's the right way to do this and the easy way to do it. Let's talk about the easy way.

I will assume that you can work out for yourself how to add a servo to your sketch and set the position on it. Have a look at any of the servo examples in the 'file->examples" menu in the IDE.

The only tricky thing is making the servo move slowly while the light is yellow. To do this, you use a loop and  the millis() function.

this:
Code: [Select]