Go Down

Topic: Using Arduino as ISP to burn Blink to atmega328pu chip - Help! (Read 565 times) previous topic - next topic

maglobal

Jul 10, 2018, 12:08 am Last Edit: Jul 10, 2018, 01:04 am by maglobal Reason: removing smiley face....dumb.
OK....I am going to ask for help!

I am and I am not a newbie....new to microcontroller programming though...I got to be overlooking something very basic...always is basic...once you know what it is!  

After two weeks of daily frustrations....all I want to do is burn the Blink sketch to an ATMEGA328 PU and then have it run on a standalone breadboard. I have followed the instructions to a TEE as below. They mirror numerous other postings.

https://www.instructables.com/id/Burning-Sketch-To-Atmega328P-PU-On-A-Breadboard-Us/

All goes well up to loading the Blink sketch....I get the following error following compilation....

I am using Arduino IDE 1.8.6.
RPI 3 running LInux Jessie.

have searched extensively to try to run down these errors....makes no sense that the Serial Port is not found....since the ArduinoISP sketch downloads to two different UNOs on the serial port  /dev/ttACM0 successfully....just get the error when using Arduino as ISP Programmer....
The full verbose error message is attached.

avrdude: stk500_getparm(): (a) protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x14

avrdude: stk500_getparm(): (a) protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x02

avrdude: stk500_getparm(): (a) protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x10
       Hardware Version: 569736
       Firmware Version: 106140.397896
       Topcard         : STK502
       Vtarget         : 1.8 V
       Varef           : 0.0 V
       Oscillator      : Off
       SCK period      : 0.1 us

avrdude: stk500_initialize(): (b) protocol error, expect=0x10, resp=0x01
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
       Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
       this check.

avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x10

avrdude done.  Thank you.