Go Down

Topic: Low power replacement for a mechanical relay in a solar powered Arduino project (Read 319 times) previous topic - next topic

HSWD

Hi! Can you please help me finding a good low power replacement for a 5V mechanical Relay in the following diagram.

This is a solar powered (with a backup Li-ion battery) project and supply is managed (using MCP73871 chip) and regulated to make it steady.
Timer is generating square pulsers. Every T minutes arduino is switched on for few seconds (~25s) using the Relay. But relay is using quite amount of power. Because this circuit is powered 24x7, relays power consumption (~70mA) really matters.

Therefor is there any substitute that is equal to a mechanical relay that has very low power consumption?
I found that SSR ICs, OptoMOS Relay ICs and Analog Switching ICs can be used but i'm not sure about there power consumption.

JonesyWolf

Hi HSWD,
While I am no expert on the subject, from my limited experience, I'd recommend using a MOSFET for turning on and off your Arduino as they are pretty power efficient. I'd also recommend watching this video from GreatScott! to learn more: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4_NeqlJgOs
Best of luck,
John

jremington

You could use a high side MOSFET switch. Pololu manufactures a nice collection of small modules.

However, there is no need at all to turn on and off the power to an Arduino or to use the 555 timer IC. In sleep mode, power consumption of a "bare bones" Arduino is negligible, and it can wake itself using the watchdog timer to do something at any desired interval.

Have a look at this solar powered Arduino project that uses only a supercap for backup power.

MarkT

Every T minutes arduino is switched on for few seconds using the Relay. But relay is using quite amount of power. Because this relay is powered 24x7, it's power consumption really matters.
No, the relay is on for a few seconds every T minutes.  The 555 is powered 24x7, so the first