Go Down

Topic: My Due project just... stops after a few hours (Read 823 times) previous topic - next topic

Hoek

I've been working on and off on a complex clock project for ages (2+ years) and it mainly works but when testing for long periods of time... it just hangs.

Sometimes it happens after 6+ hours and other times after around 2. It varies a lot because the clock does a lot less sometimes depending on the time of day. It does not tell the time vocally on certain hours. Each hour of the week has a bit field that determines what the clock can and can't do. When testing I just let it do everything regardless.

There is a lot of hardware connected to it so there are plenty of places for the normal conflicts and buggy code and libraries to show their faces.

The hardware includes :-
MCP4921 for sound
PAM8403 Audio amp
SPI Micro SD Card and highly modified/optimised library
RTC1307
Serial GPS module (I get the current date and time from GPS at the start) and use location when available later
SSD1322 256*64*4 bit OLED with custom library and DMA access
PIR Infared detector
BME280 over I2C for humidity, temperature and pressure

While running now if __TEST__ is defined I show a lot of debug information and it seems at first glance the malloc/free calls are fine as I use dynamic wipes from SD card to wipe the old minute.

May have to visit all the code libraries and make sure all while loops that exit on hardware events also have a reasonable timeout.

I've also experienced the I2C bus not initializing a lot to the point where I will replace the I2C RTC and temperature sensor with SPI ones in the future which will also enable faster DMA access.

The other problem I have is I use a LOT of resource files on SD card however if any of these fail to load or are corrupt it should fail gracefully (ie. not play a specific sound or bitmap resource)

After starting up I have 67K of free heap and it will dip to 24K when 3 animations are loaded.