Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down
Author Topic: RF Communication  (Read 4884 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
England
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 211
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

connect digital pin one (tx) to your transmitter's RX pin, and digital pin 0 (rx) to your transmitter's TX pin, the rest is explained in the link I gave you.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 95
NAM Modular Systems industries
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Serial.print(6)
Its the same as communicating over the computer
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
connect digital pin one (tx) to your transmitter's RX pin, and digital pin 0 (rx) to your transmitter's TX pin, the rest is explained in the link I gave you.

I am not getting what u mean by transmitter's TX pin. Transmitter has only 4 pins right?
Please refer Datasheet http://www.mediafire.com/file/kh2nxyel07lxrdf/rf.pdf
Am I correct in this?

Pin 1 GND (to GND)
Pin 2 Transmitter input (connected to digital pin 1 of Arduino)
Pin 3 Vcc  (to 9V)
Pn 4 RF output (connected to antenna )

So what do I connect to digital pin 2?  :-/

Quote
Serial.print(6)
Its the same as communicating over the computer
So if i give serial.print(0) it prints 0 on the serial monitor and it transmits value 0 through digital pin 1?  smiley
Logged

St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 2
Posts: 301
Ancient developer
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Pin 2 is the Tx data pin.
Logged

Leon Heller
G1HSM

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So Pin 4 of transmitter module must be connected to digital pin 2 of Arduino and to the antenna ?
Logged

Melbourne, Australia
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 226
Cyborg-in-progress
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, the antenna pin (pin 4) is connected to *only* the antenna, nothing else. You don't need anything connected to pin 2 on the Arduino for the transmitter. The transmitter is a serial device, so the only connections to the Arduino are the common GND, VCC, and the data pin. That's it.
--
Jon
Practical Arduino: www.practicalarduino.com
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 12:41:45 am by jonoxer » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanx for reply  smiley
Logged

England
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 211
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

right, didn't realise you were using unidirectional devices.
Logged

Spokane, Washington
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 686
My name is Bob, and I'm an addict.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I couldn't read the PDF, so I'm going to assume he has the cheap 434mhz or 315mhz RX/TX pair, ASK modulation.  

Here's a Sparkfun example:
http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/RF/KLP_Walkthrough.pdf

And here's an example just using the SoftwareSerial... which can also be done with the hardware version by changing it all to Serial.print  instead of rfSerial.print (and connecting to right pins of course):
http://dma.ucla.edu/senselab/node/389


If you have enough sketch space, Virtual Wire really helps eliminating the chance of noise.. but it also limits the amount of data being able to be sent per second.  So you win some and you lose some. ;P
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 7
Posts: 476
what?
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Natman
Quote
Serial.print(6)
dont forget the ;
Like so Serial.print(6);

@000
What are you trying to connect, forget the radio's for now, just get the 2 devices connected serially first then worry about the radio's after,learn to  walk before running
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 06:36:45 am by Funky_Gibbon » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@ captainObvious
Yup. that's the transmitter/receiver I was talking about. Thanx for the link will try it out today. smiley

[edit]
In the link (http://dma.ucla.edu/senselab/node/389) Arduino #1 is connected only to transmitter right?

Please refer to the following figure.


[/edit]
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 07:09:26 am by dev_000 » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can someone help on this?  :-/
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 613
Posts: 49335
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Can someone help on this?
We're trying. But, at this point, you need to be much more specific about what you need help with.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 235
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

what more information do you need?  smiley I cant get the answer to the question asked in the figure.  smiley-sad
Logged

Spokane, Washington
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 686
My name is Bob, and I'm an addict.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

000,

For Software Serial you need to initialize both the TX and RX pins, even if you're not using them both.  You can set it to a pin you're not using and just don't connect anything to it.


I'm not sure what more we can offer you, those tutorial/walk-throughs are pretty clear. smiley-razz
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
Jump to: