Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 21   Go Down
Author Topic: GLCD library version 3  (Read 78526 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
San Juan, TX
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

I am having a little bit of trouble with my GLCD, any help would be greatly appreciated.
I am using the GLCD Library and running the Diag tool and I am getting the same output as the guys before:

Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
GLCD initialization Failed: RESET wait Timeout (status code: 2)


I have checked the wiring again and again and I'm sure it is correct. I am using the Pinout A from the http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/GLCDks0108 tutorial. Last night I got the GLCD to show the example from the old library. Today I rewired the wires to make them more accessible and now nothing. (quick note: when the screen was displaying last night, the image seemed to be moved to the right, such that position 0,0 was in the middle of the screen and the image would go all the way to the right and then finish the image starting from the left to the middle, strange)

I am using the the HQM1286404.

Any suggestions on what the problem might be? I just hope its not burnt out. and if so how do I check for that?
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It sounds like the glcd was working before, which is very good.
The included documentation has some tips for resolving a swapped screen.
(bring up the html documentation and go to the troubleshooting section)
A swapped screen is due to the chip select lines being swapped.

A non working display is wiring %99+  of the time.

The display now not working means something is now wired differently than before.
The RESET failed message is due to the library waiting for the glcd to be complete with reset
and it thinks the display isn't ready after waiting longer than should be necessary.
This almost always do to improper wiring.

Any ideas what might have changed?

Do you have a link to a datasheet for the glcd so that the wiring can be verified?
(I couldn't locate one for a HQM1286404)

If you look closely at the diags output, it indicates where each pin should be wired.
Have you verified that each pin reported by diags is wired to the glcd function indicated?
EX:
RW on the glcd should be connected to Arduino pin 35
glcd D0 to Arduino pin 22
glcd EN to Arduino pin 37
etc...

Can you post a few clear closeup pictures of your wiring?

--- bill
Logged

San Juan, TX
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey Bill,
Sorry I took a while to respond, I tried yesterday with a different screen a ediptft43-atp via I2C, I have a quick question about sending commands, but I will post that in a another thread.
Needless to say I had to disconnect the HQM1286404, so to make sure that all wires all connected correctly this time I labeled them with some post-its. I then aligned them on the the breadboard and started connecting everything back.
Here is a link where I found more or less what the pin config is, cross referencing it to the tutorial it made some sense:
http://www.scienceprog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007i/Glcd/GLCD_pins.png

But now when I run the diag I get this:

Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
 Compare error: 0 != 1
 Compare error: 0 != 2
 Compare error: 0 != 4
 Compare error: 0 != 8
 Compare error: 7E != 10
 Compare error: 11 != 20
 Compare error: 11 != 40
 Compare error: 0 != 80
TEST FAILED

Here are some pics of the set up now:




Thanks for the help.

-Martin
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The first/original wiring sounded like it was working with the only issue being the chip select
pins swapped.
Can you get back to that wiring?

The diags is reporting an error that still looks like some sort of wiring issue.

You've got a lot of wires there.
Why so many?

It looks like you have small blue wires connecting to the wires
going into to the breadboard.
How are those attached to each other?

Twisting them together is very likely to create intermittent connections that
won't work reliably.
(Recently I saw another person chase errors related to this for a week or more.)

How about the wires going to the glcd?
Do you have any photos of the wires going to the glcd?

A wide shot that shows everything might help.
It can be helpful especially if it can show all the wires including the potentiometer.

--- bill
Logged

San Juan, TX
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey,
I got it to work apperantly I was missing the reset pin #14. I connected to the the reset pin on the arduino board.
The only thing that I found is that it seems to have chip 1 first then chip 0, I flipped the CSEL1 with CSEL2 and bam now it is straight away.

Thanks a  lot for all your help. It was a wire issue after all,
Here are pins what I have them connected to:
Pin / ARDUINO PIN
1.ground
2. power
3. to pot
4. D0  / 22
5. D1 / 23
6. D2 / 24
7. D3 / 25
8. D4 / 26
9. D5 / 27
10. D6 /28
11. D7 / 29
12. CSEL2 / 34
13. CSEL1 / 33
14. RESET / RESET PIN
15. RW / 35
16. DI / 36
17. EN / 37
18. POT
19. POWER
20. RESISTOR/GROUND

Thanks,
-Martin
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was fortunate to get one of the Arduino USB ADK boards at Google IO 2011.. haven't had much time to use it, but started hacking with it over the past few months... This weekend it got a sparkfun LCD-00710 128x64 graphic LCD...

Downside: soldering a header for wiring was annoying, but with the right iron its doable.

Upside:  The GLCD v3 library worked first time.

Here's a picture of it in action...

Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Very Cool!
Have fun and feel free to post any feedback you have about the library and documentation.
--- bill
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Guys,
I am building a project in which I receive an image ID over Xbee and I use that ID to display the appropriate image on the LCD screen. These images are being read from an SD card. Since my project involves both Xbee and SD Card, I decided to use the Wireless SD shield (http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoWirelessShield). I am seeing some strange behavior occuring with regards to the LCD.
For accessing the SD card I am using the SdFat library. Since the Wireless SD shield connects the Xbee directly to pins 0,1 (RX,TX) of the Arduino Uno, I am just using Serial.print and Serial.read to send and receive data. For displaying images on the lcd I am using the latest version of the gLCD library.

The problem I am facing is as follows:
First when I receive and ID through Xbee, I use that to display image on the LCD and everything works fine. However after an iteration of the loop(), when I receive another image ID, I call the DisplayLetter function but it doesnt seem to do anything on the LCD. It is very strange and I have not been able to figure out what is going on. Any help is greatly appreciated. The LCD I am using is Nokia-11062 from Sparkfun.com (http://www.sparkfun.com/products/11062)

my DisplayLetter function:
void DisplayLetter(char *fileName) {
  int BR, BG, BB, FR, FG, FB, tempInt;
  SdFile myFile;
  if (!myFile.open(fileName, O_READ)) {
     sd.errorHalt("Opening file for read failed");
  }
  graphic.SetBackColour(BR,BG,BB);
  graphic.SetForeColour(FR,FG,FB);     
  for (y = 132; y >= 0; y--){   
    for (x = 132; x >= 0; x--){
        unsigned char val;
        char ch2 = (char)myFile.read();
        char ch1 = (char)myFile.read();
        int dig1, dig2;
        if(isdigit(ch1)) dig1 = ch1 - '0';
        else if(ch1>='A' && ch1<='F') dig1 = ch1 - 'A' + 10;
        else if(ch1>='a' && ch1<='f') dig1 = ch1 - 'a' + 10;
        if(isdigit(ch2)) dig2 = ch2 - '0';
        else if(ch2>='A' && ch2<='F') dig2 = ch2 - 'A' + 10;
        else if(ch2>='a' && ch2<='f') dig2 = ch2 - 'a' + 10;
        val = dig1*16 + dig2;
        if( val != 0xFF){
          graphic.Plot(x, y ,3);
        }else{
          graphic.Plot(x, y ,0);
        }
    }
  } 
  myFile.close();
}
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi to all..
I'm tryin to use an Arduino Mega 2560 with a GLCD, it is a  DEM128064ASYH, it is a cheap 128x64 GLCD.
Here is the datasheet: http://www.e-lab.de/downloads/DOCs/DEM128064ASYH-LY.pdf.
I checked the connections and everything iis right connected and there is no short circuits between any pins.
I'm having this problem:
Everything that the left side shows, I got it on the right side, seems that the chip 0 prints also on the chip 1 side. Instead the chip 1 not writes on the chip 0 side.

I'm really trying to understad what's wrong and I hope someone out there can givme some advices.

In the photo you can see the problem, I wrote on the left side the word left1 and I can see it also in the right side; I wrote on the right side in a new line the word right2 and, as it should be, I see it only in the right side.

Also here is the GLCDdiags report, (reperts a failed on initialization):


Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
GLCD initialization Failed: BUSY wait Timeout (status code: 1)


Thank you
Raul


* IMG_0267.JPG (903.12 KB, 2048x1536 - viewed 57 times.)
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ash6320,
The nokia display you are using uses a different library than the GLCD library. Sorry.
--- bill
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

raul,
There is some sort of a wiring issue.
When I look at the image, I don't see exactly the same thing on the left and right sides.
I see "right2" only on the right side and not on the left.

But wiring issues can create some very strange effects.

What did you use to create the text on the image shown?
I'm curious because with the failure that diags is reporting any
attempts to use the display would normally hang waiting on BUSY.
Were there any wiring changes between whatever created
the display image and when diags were run?
If you run your test sketch after diags fails does it still produce the same results?

Assuming that there were no changes between the sketch that created your sample image
and the diags, then the sample image offers some useful information.
It indicates that nearly everything is wired and working correctly and that
there is probably an issue in the wires or connections themselves rather than
where the wires are connecting.

In other words there is probably a bad connection within the wires.

Whenever you see data duplicated between portions of the display, it often indicates
a chip select issue like a broken chipselect wire or poor connection.
Carefully check your chip select wires. One or both of them may not
be making good connection.

Whenever you see "BUSY" or "RESET" timeouts from initialization, it can be many things
but given you were able to draw a character, I'd focus on the RW, DI, and chips select lines.

My guess is that one of those wires is either not making connection or is marginal and
only making partial connection.


--- bill



Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you Bill, you were right, there was a wire connected in an wrong pin on Arduino.
Ok now I tried also the GLCDdiags everything works fine and here is the report:

Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
Wr/Rd Chip Select Test
Testing GLCD memory pages
Horizontal Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Vertical Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Horizontal Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Vertical Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Full Module Horizontal Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Full Module Vertical Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Tests PASSED
GLCD.SetDot() speed (K ops/sec): 17.25
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------


Now I can confirm that the DEM128064ASYH it is fully working with the GLCD Library.

It has to be connected as the Pinout B!

http://www.e-lab.de/downloads/DOCs/DEM128064ASYH-LY.pdf

https://www.distrelec.it/ishopWebFront/search/luceneSearch.do?dispatch=find&keywordPhrase=661589

Thank you Bill!
« Last Edit: March 20, 2012, 11:49:13 am by raulbraian » Logged

0
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 20
Posts: 1980
Wo ein Wille ist, da ist auch ein Weg !
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

How to handle a 192x64 pixel ks0108 display with the glcd v3 rc3 ?

It's a DM19264A and it has a cs3 !
Logged

Mein Arduino Projekte Blog:
http://ardu-megatank.blogspot.de/

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2702
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Megaionstorm,
The library and its configuration system handles that.
There is mention of a few 192x64 panels that people have used
on the glcd/ks01080 playground wiki.
Also you will see in the panel config files that you can specify
the number of chip lines and the chip select levels used to
select each individual chip.

--- bill

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys,

I have recently bought a 128x64 LCD from ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/260932724689?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

The interface should be panel B according this and the pinout from the ebay URL:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/Code/GLCD_Documentation.pdf

I wired everything, but the LCD displays nothing only the backlit works, I can also change the contrast with the variable resistor.
I'm using the newest library DLed from
http://code.google.com/p/glcd-arduino/downloads/list

I have an UNO. Can you advise something how to proceed?

Thanks,
DEx-
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 21   Go Up
Jump to: