Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 21   Go Down
Author Topic: GLCD library version 3  (Read 78031 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Okay the diag works, but on the lcd there is still nothing:

Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
Wr/Rd Chip Select Test
Testing GLCD memory pages
Horizontal Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Vertical Page Test Chip: 0 Pixels 0-63
Horizontal Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Vertical Page Test Chip: 1 Pixels 64-127
Full Module Horizontal Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Full Module Vertical Page Test:Pixels 0-127
Tests PASSED
GLCD.SetDot() speed (K ops/sec): 17.36
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It isnt' clear what type of display you have.
The picture from that ebay auction does not match the information in the technical diagrams.
The picture is of a st7920 lcd and the technical information which includes the pinout is for
a ks0108 module.
I'm assuming you actually have a ks0108 (vs what is shown in the photo) since the diags is working.

My suspicion at this point is that the contrast pot is miswired.
What is each of the 3 pins of the contrast pot hooked up to?

If it was incorrectly wired in the past, even briefly, it is also possible that the VEE power supply
was blown. But if that is the case you won't seen any pixels.
When you say you can change the contrast, you are seeing the display change
from no pixels on to all the pixels on?

Can you show a clear closeup photo of the board and its wiring
and in particular the wires going to the contrast pot.

--- bill
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Bill,

thanks for your comment.
By checking the wiring again I managed to make it work!!!

Thanks again,
DEx-
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have an HJ19264A GLCD I purchased from eBay. It was relatively inexpensive. However, it didn't clearly match A, B or C models in the docs (and the data sheet was in Chinese), so I spent a great deal of time hooking this up. I thought I'd share the connections in case others are having this problem.

GLCD Pin    Arduino Pin
VSS                   Ground
VDD                  +5v
VO                     Middle Pin 10k pot
RS                      36
RW                     35
E                        37
DB0-7                 22-29 (in order)
CS1                    33
RST                    reset
CS2                    34
CS3                    32
VEE                    first pin of 10k pot
LA                      +5v
(last pin of 10k pot goes to ground)

Hope that helps someone out there!
Logged

Dublin, Ireland
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

At last after a day trying to get my old GLCD working on my new Uno I find this thread and the link to a working library!!

Am working through the "Arduino Cookbook" which I find very useful but the libraries are not included in the downloads.

Much Googling and trying Version 2 and version 3 beta of GLCD libs ( they wouldn't compile ) but just downloaded from this thread and bingo!!

After about 6 years my GLCD spoke to me!!

Many thanks

Will
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 415
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm having a lot of problems to get my display work with Arduino UNO rev3.

I have this display: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/710 bought from sparkfun.
I did all the connection like specified in the documentation for the panelA but I always have all dark pixels and i read nothing else also when i upload the hello world sketch.

if i carefully rotate the potentiometer i can only have two situations: all pixels dark and all pixel blank.

All the connections are correct and this is the diagnostic report:

Quote
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
 Compare error: 0 != 1
 Compare error: 0 != 2
 Compare error: 0 != 4
 Compare error: 0 != 8
 Compare error: 0 != 10
 Compare error: 0 != 20
 Compare error: 0 != 40
 Compare error: 0 != 80
TEST FAILED
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 2
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
 Compare error: 0 != 1
 Compare error: 0 != 2
 Compare error: 0 != 4
 Compare error: 0 != 8
 Compare error: 0 != 10
 Compare error: 0 != 20
 Compare error: 0 != 40
 Compare error: 0 != 80
TEST FAILED
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 3
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
 Compare error: 0 != 1
 Compare error: 0 != 2
 Compare error: 0 != 4
 Compare error: 0 != 8
 Compare error: 0 != 10
 Compare error: 0 != 20
 Compare error: 0 != 40
 Compare error: 0 != 80
TEST FAILED
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 1.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Arduino
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:14(PIN_C0) CSEL2:15(PIN_C1)
 RW:16(PIN_C2) DI:17(PIN_C3) EN:18(PIN_C4)
 D0:8(PIN_B0) D1:9(PIN_B1) D2:10(PIN_B2) D3:11(PIN_B3)
 D4:4(PIN_D4) D5:5(PIN_D5) D6:6(PIN_D6) D7:7(PIN_D7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(14,0x1, 15,0x0) CHIP1:(14,0x0, 15,0x1)
Data mode:
 d0-d3:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
 d4-d7:nibble mode-Non-Atomic
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Can you help me, please?
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sounds like the power and contrast pins are wired up correctly.

The diags seems to be reading all zero bits.
This is more than likely due to some miswiring.

Check the wiring very carefully, to ensure that the wires
from the Arduino pins are connected to the glcd function pins as
indicated in the diagnostic output.
Pay particular attention to the control lines: R/W, DI, EN, CS1, CS2

Is there anything else hooked up to the Arduino?

Can you post some clear closeup photos of your wiring as well as wide shot
that shows all the wiring?

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 415
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for your reply.

All the wires are connected and soldered as specified in the library docs for panelA displays.

Sometimes, it happens that if i upload "life" example, the display works very well but if i shutdown and power on arduino again, it does not work and display strange characters.

It works very randomly.
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sounds like some sort of intermittent issue.
If diags is reporting an error, there is still a problem.
Since it sounds like it works some of the time, here are some likely possibilities:
- wiring issue
This could be anything like a loose wire or improper solder joint, using wires that are too long,
to an actual mis-connected wire.
In particular, what is the glcd modules reset pin (glcd module pin 14) connected to?
Some glcd modules are very picky about the reset signal.

- bad or insufficient power.
Can you measure the voltage between pin 1 and pin 2 of the glcd module?
Is everything powered from the same power supply?

- bad glcd module.
This tends to be quite rare but it does happen.
Was the glcd module ever mis wired and powered up? even briefly?

Can you post some clear photos of your setup with closeups of the solder connections
on the glcd and a photo that clearly shows all the wires and their connections?

--- bill
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just noticed this:
Code:
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Serial initialized

In your diag output. This sequence of messages does not occur in the code.

"Serial initialized" prints first but in your output it occurs after the other two messages.

Did you reset the board in the middle of the diag sketch running?

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 415
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, I don't.

However, pin 14 of my LCD is connected to Arduino reset. Is it correct?

(I tried also to connect pin 14 to +5VDC, but it's the same)

The problem is that sometimes the library works well (few times) and all the other times it prints weird characters..
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, I don't.
????
Weird characters? I think it may be time for some photos/video.

What about: (from earlier)
The supply voltage?
The source of the voltage?
Was the module ever incorrectly hooked up?
Any photos of your setup?

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 415
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

These are some photos about the display.
The first and the second photos are for Hello World example while the third is for Life example.

I didn't take the photo about the wiring since it is not possible to understand something since there a lot of wires, all with the same colour.
However, they are all ok since display works fine sometimes.

I have no other device attached to my Arduino UNO rev3, only the display.
I have Serial library since i write something on the serial port just to see if my program is working.

Supply voltage is +5VDC from Arduino which is also the source voltage; i'm not using any additional source.
The module was never been connected with a wrong configuration.


* IMAG0419-2.jpg (285.23 KB, 3264x1840 - viewed 48 times.)

* IMAG0419-1.jpg (285.23 KB, 3264x1840 - viewed 39 times.)

* IMAG0417-1.jpg (616.41 KB, 3264x1840 - viewed 52 times.)
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 08:45:34 pm by marcus barnet » Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 67
Posts: 2694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That is very strange.

The glcd memory is mapped 8 bits at time vertically. Each 8 vertical pixels is
written at once. The text is corrupted within that 8 bits.

It still could be a wiring issue.
Broken, disconnected, or poor connecting wires can create some really strange problems
as the signals float around and vary depending on loading and what is being done.


Diags is going to be the best bet for diagnosing the problem.

From looking at the display data bits 2 and 3 (glcd module pins 6 & 7) seem to be having issues.
Take a very close at the wires on those connections.


When diags runs what does the initial animation pattern look like?
(It should be a triangle from upper left to lower right).

Does diags get past the initial walking ones test?

You measured the voltage at pins 1 & 2 on the glcd at exactly 5v?

Can you get a clear shot of the wires so I can see the solder joints?
What is on the other end of the wires?
Are the wires going into a breadboard, or directly into the Arduino board?
How long are the wires and do they have any breaks or re-connections in them before
being connected to the Arduino headers?

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 415
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Between pin1 and pin2 there are 5.01VDC.
I check the continuity with a tester on all the connections and they are all ok.
Unfortunately, i tried to take a photo about the wiring but it is not clear since there are too many wires.
Pins 6 and 7 are ok.
Wires are very short, about 10 centimeters and they do not have reconnections or breaks: they directly go to the atmel microcontroller.

I'm using a perfboards, so all the wire are soldered.
However, i tried to connect and re-connect the display to my arduino several times and all the time connections are ok but there are strange characters on the display.

The most important thing is that when I run the diagnostic sketch, I'm able to see the triangle which is under all the strange characters and the black pixel lines.
As you can see in the previous photos, sometimes the correct characters are in background since strange characters and black lines are foreground.

Logged

Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 21   Go Up
Jump to: