Go Down

Topic: Reading a specific line of text from a txt file (Read 256 times) previous topic - next topic

DanSPE

Hello, I am new to Arduino with little programming experience (MATLAB and excel proficient with little Arduino). I am working on a project that has stored lines of text that are ordered in a text file that I would like to look up based on a lookup value.

I've searched vigorously but can't seem to find what I'm looking for/ don't really understand what I'm reading(as far as the codes are concerned). It doesn't seem as straightforward as one may think(or maybe I'm over complicating it).

My goal:
Read the date from an RTC and that date will be the lookup value. I have for example: September 12 as a value of 0912 and so on for each month and day. I would like to use this value to search in the text file. The text file would be formatted in rows as follows:
0912Hello World
0913It is tomorrow

From here, I want to display the line on an LCD screen(I understand this part).

So my question is, 1. Can someone explain how the values of an RTC can be obtained and used as a lookup value? And 2, how do you search a text file based on a specific lookup value and read that line (minus the lookup value).

If anyone could elaborate on this or know of better references, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

ieee488

Read a line at time from the text file into a char array #1.

The lookup value is a char array #2 with 5 elements including the NULL at the end.

Use strstr() to see if char array #2 occurs in char array #1.
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstring/strstr/

Keep reading from the text file until match is found or end of file is reached.

DanSPE