Go Down

Topic: Is it possible to make an in-line repeater (or router) using Ethernet shields? (Read 133 times) previous topic - next topic

Mithra

What I would like to do is create an arduino-based device that sits in-line between an internet-ready device ( such as my workstation ) and my switch / router.

The goal is to be able to filter / modify / block packets between the client device and the server.  I am a software developer and I'm curious about whether I can build something like this to help me debug network code non-invasively.  I think it would also be a neat way to measure network volume on a particular connection.

In other words, I want to create a basic router with one downstream port.  One Ethernet shield will pull an IP address from the upstream router as per normal ( not a problem ), but somehow I need the other Ethernet shield to work like a port on a switch, assigning the downstream device an IP and acting as its gateway.

Can anyone tell me offhand if this is feasible?

Or is there a better way to go about doing this?  Even if it didn't function as a router but rather a pass-along mechanism, that would be adequate.  Although I suspect a router would be more straight forward.

I figure I can connect the Arduino to my laptop via USB, run the serial monitor and then be able to view incoming and outgoing data on the wire.

I'm afraid someone is going to tell me this will require massive driver rewrites for the Ethernet shield OR that despite the fact the 8P8C connector fits, the shield circuitry is not designed to act as a port.

But then again, maybe both NICs can just pull a separate IP easily enough, and I can configure the PC in question to refer to one of them as its gateway?  Then it would be a matter of sending data received out the other NIC?  Scratching my head on this one.

SurferTim