Go Down

Topic: Inverse kinematics (Planar) library that works for N joints using FABRIK (Read 521 times) previous topic - next topic

henriksod

Hello!

I am a Master student at UmeƄ University in Robotics and Control and I created an Arduino library for an inverse kinematics solver for planar manipulators that is computationally efficient and works for N number of joints! The library also allows for setting a specific tool angle, allowing your manipulator to approach a point from a particular angle.

I created this library for a robotics competition and it works perfectly. I found that there are no good inverse kinematics libraries out there for Arduino where you have a general solver that fits everyone's needs, either the libraries were made for one particular manipulator or it was created for 2 or 3 joints using the regular geometric approach.

This library uses an iterative method called FABRIK, proposed by Andreas Aristidou and Joan Lasenby, which is more computationally efficient than the geometric and algebraic approach. It guarantees one solution based on the previous configuration of the manipulator and it works for an infinite (theoretically) number of joints.

Here is a link to the repository, please try it out: https://github.com/henriksod/Fabrik2DArduino

Happy making!

dsyleixa

that sounds amazing!
I am just searching for a inverse kinematics lib  for this 5-6DOF robot (target position = middle of the claw):

https://www.ebay.de/itm/Assembled-6DOF-Robot-Arm-Mechanical-Robotic-Clamp-Claw-with-Servos-Controller/252317775624?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

do you think the lib is suitable for it?
(tbh, actually 3D x,y,z coordinates have to be calculated)

henriksod

that sounds amazing!
I am just searching for a inverse kinematics lib  for this 56DOF robot (target position = middle of the claw):