Go Down

Topic: Servo motors (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

aerosam

Hi

Here is a total newbie question.
I am getting totally confused with the jargon surrounding motors.
1)The RC servo community seems to refer to servos as devices that can maintain a particular angle, but not capable of continuous rotation.
But i believe servos such as
http://www.beckhoff.com/english.asp?drive_technology/default.htm, are capable of continuous rotation. So what is a servo??
2)If i want to maintain very precise rpm control(make rpm change as i wish for example like a sine wave), would i use a servo or a DC motor?
3)If i want to maintain a precise angle and change the angle as i desire, would i use a servo?
4)What is the difference between a motor drive and a motor controller?
5)Can i convert a DC/AC motor to a servo using feedback control with pwm signals generated by the Arduino and a suitable motor controller and encoder.
3)Can i control the above Beckhoff servo using an Arduino? Do i need to buy the Drive from them?

Sorry for all the basic questions, but i can't seem to find an answer anywhere. The sales-reps just confuse me with more terminology.

Thanks
Sam

aerosam

Thanks, that clears up quite a few issues.

This is what i want to do
1)Build a disk whose rpm varies smoothly(like a sine-wave). It could be shifted by a DC value if the motor can't rotate in the reverse direction.
2)Place the Ardu-imu on this disk and log the rotation angle as measured by the encoder and as measured by the imu.

This way i will know how accurate the Ardu-imu is.
I don't need high rpm's.
60 would probably be the peak rpm.
To do this should i buy a "servo" motor like Beckhoff or a plain vanilla DC motor and try to control it's speed using pwm's from the Arduino and a motor controller?

Regds
Sam

AWOL

Mar 31, 2011, 09:49 pm Last Edit: Mar 31, 2011, 09:55 pm by AWOL Reason: 1
60 would probably be the peak rpm