Go Down

Topic: Autonomous Drone - Wooded area navigation using GPS final location (Read 448 times) previous topic - next topic

miniwheats231

Background:

My team is building an autonomous drone that needs to be capable of navigating through several obstacles (like trees) to reach its final destination. They are meant to have swarm mentality, so ideally there will be several other drones making a mesh network with specific locations as well. For now, we are just making one autonomous drone that can make its way through the woods and get to its spot. The other "drones" will be sensors on sticks to show proof of concept. I personally don't have much experience in this, I am an undergrad in Mechanical Engineering, but I really want to learn. I have a pretty handy programmer on my team to assist. We only have three months to build the prototype so we are looking for feasible solutions for this time frame.

Questions:

We have been trying to get the flight controller to respond to the arduino using betaflight, but to no avail. We were able to get some response to the throttle, pitch, yaw, and roll when using the FrSky controller and a receiver. Does anyone have any suggestions to communicate to the flight controller? We plan on using Ultra sonic sensors for the tree avoidance and a barometer for the altitude.  

We are using an SBUS receiver with a Reaxacc F3+ OSD brushed flight controller (not using this for drone - just testing). Using an SBUS library by Brian Taylor. Both work fine when connected to the FrSky controller.

How do we communicate to the flight controller using an arduino?

srnet

Out of interest, when the GPS stops working because of the trees, how are you going to navigate ?
$50SAT is now Silent (but probably still running)
http://www.50dollarsat.info/
http://www.loratracker.uk/

miniwheats231

As of now, we are assuming we wont loose GPS Signals... but if we do, we would use the localization of the other nodes to reference its required destination.