Go Down

Topic: How to use Infra red numbers (Read 471 times) previous topic - next topic

jabaruk

Hi, newbie here but i love this Arduino,heres my problem i have a IR receiver and can get an out put on serial (ie  press 1 i get 687CBE2 or press 2 i get 687CBEA) i use the IRremote.h to get this using this example sketch

Code: [Select]
// example 32.1 - IR receiver code repeater

// http://tronixstuff.com/tutorials > chapter 32

// based on code by Ken Shirriff - http://arcfn.com

#include <IRremote.h> // use the library

int receiver = 11; // pin 1 of IR receiver to Arduino digital pin 11

IRrecv irrecv(receiver); // create instance of 'irrecv'

decode_results results;

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600); // for serial monitor output

irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver

}

void loop()

{

if (irrecv.decode(&results)) // have we received an IR signal?

{

Serial.println(results.value, HEX); // display it on serial monitor in hexadecimal

irrecv.resume(); // receive the next value

}  // Your loop can do other things while waiting for an IR command

}

Now i am a bit lost on how to use these numbers (from serial) to do anything like turn a LED on say pin 13 and then off.I understand Ledpin HIGH LOW etc but not how to use the HEX (i think) numbers from the remote?

MarkT

The Serial.print is printing the number in its hex representation - but you could print it in decimal if you wanted.

To use the value you just need to compare it with the relevant value - if working in HEX use hexadecimal long integer constants:

switch (results.value)
  {
  case 0x687CBE2L:
    // do something for '1'
    break ;
  case 0x687CBEAL:
    // do something for '2'
    break ;
    // etc etc
  }
[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

jabaruk