Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: ADXL355 Lilypad Calculating Acceleration - Help  (Read 1284 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

I have a Lilypad Accelerometer ADXL355 and a Lilypad ATmega 328.  I have written some code to get LEDs to fade in and out according to tilt on the x and y axis.

My next challenge is go calculate acceleration.  I want to create an outfit for a dancer and when they move fast I want red lights to come on. When they are going at a medium speed, I want green lights to come on.  When they are moving slowly I want blue lights to come on. 

I am a real newbie and don't really know where to start in order to calculate the acceleration.  I figure I need a formula for translating the analog values into g force and another for calculating the difference in g force between stationary and movement at different speeds.

Help Please!!!

Shannon Member
:(){:|:&};: TOX id: fcb8e918bef08581e23f6ddf9d4dba77697c25b217bf372736ed959a95fde36df5b8c5b90fbb
View Profile

you know when accelerometer are stationary it will output only 1G on the Y axes..
so read the G for every axes, look if it is enought linear (put x, y at 45° respect ground and see if sqrt(x*x+y*y) are similar to the "free" reading)
then you know the G value smiley

my Arduino code: https://github.com/lestofante/arduinoSketch
sei nuovo? non sai da dove partire? leggi qui: http://playground.arduino.cc/Italiano/Newbie

View Profile

Thanks Lesto.

I'm sorry, I'm still pretty confused I am very new to this.  When the accelerometer is stationary shouldn't the output be 0g? 

At the moment when I read the data from the sensor when it is stationary and flat I am getting readings of about:  x: 512, y: 512, z: 612.

I want to know how to convert this analog data to g's. It seems so simple, however after much hunting I am still unsure.

Global Moderator
UK
Brattain Member
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile