Go Down

Topic: Pull up or down ? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

DaveO

Hi all.

Complete newbee. little electronics experience. programmer. new Arduino Mega on its way to me.

I understand the logic of a pull up or pull down resistor, and what happens if I don't use one.

Have browed the 20 pages of topics under the 'General Electronics' forum, but can't seem to find the answers to 2 simple question :

1. what is the correct value resistor to use ?

2. why ( is there a calculation for determining the correct value ) ?

Also, is it best to use the built-in pull-up, or add an external resistor ?

frank26080115

Apr 05, 2011, 07:40 am Last Edit: Apr 05, 2011, 07:42 am by frank26080115 Reason: 1
http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/218

built-in resistors are obviously for convenience, if you don't have a reason not to use them, then use them
Freelance engineer, consultant, contractor. Graduated from UW in 2013.

DaveO

Many Thanks.

I believe I now understand this.

Grumpy_Mike

1. what is the correct value resistor to use ?

There is no "right answer". It is a compromise between current wasted, noise immunity and drive capacity of the device feeding into the input.

is there a calculation for determining the correct value

It's just ohms law, the trick is knowing how much current you want at the correct voltage.
If you only pull up to the exact voltage of the logic threshold then any noise will trigger the input. So pull up further gives you immunity against picked up noise.

However the up shot is that you can use between 1K to 10K on an arduino quite happily.

Using LS TTL circuits this is the same for a pull up but TTL inputs require you to sink 2mA for a pull down so then the biggest pull down you could have was a lot lower.

Yankee

So, is there a down-side to using the internal pullups?

retrolefty

Not for interfacing with simple switch contacts. No external components or board space taken up, what's not to like about that.

Lefty

frank26080115