Go Down

Topic: Simulate encoder output for stepper motor (Read 128 times) previous topic - next topic

chuckbarry

Hi All,

First off, I'm a complete amateur, and know nothing about this. Got thrown into this project against my will...

anyways, I'm trying to simulate an encoder output for a stepper motor that doesn't come with an encoder. We're just going to trust that the motor spins as it should, but I need the encoder output to run another system as the motor spins.

This is the code i have running my motor. slow spinning, and gives a pause for switching parts the motor is spinning one revolution around.

Looking to add a quadrature encoder output or 5V TTL as i've been told i need. This could come off any of the other two pins, but i want the signal to be in sync with the motor motion. Any suggestions? I have no clue where to start.

int PUL=7; //define Pulse pin
int DIR=6; //define Direction pin
int ENA=5; //define Enable Pin
void setup() {
pinMode (PUL, OUTPUT);
pinMode (DIR, OUTPUT);
pinMode (ENA, OUTPUT);
}
void loop() {
  for (int j=0; j<5; j++)
  {
for (int i=0; i<23040; i++) //Forward 5000 steps
{
digitalWrite(DIR,LOW);
digitalWrite(ENA,HIGH);
digitalWrite(PUL,HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(50);
digitalWrite(PUL,LOW);
}

delay(5000);
  }

}

Robin2

Nov 15, 2018, 09:49 am Last Edit: Nov 15, 2018, 09:53 am by Robin2
Every time the motor makes a step you need to change the output twice (I think) on the pins that represent the encoder - so that the "encoder pins" go LOW HIGH and HIGH LOW for every step. There should be plenty of time between steps to do that.

IIRC a quadrature encoder can identify the direction of travel because, for one direction, pin A is HIGH and pin B is low and vice versa for the other direction - but I am not an expert on that,