Go Down

Topic: Serial communication and control. HELP! (Read 734 times) previous topic - next topic

Hello, I am new to Arduino and coding in general, so I delayed posting this in the hopes that I can just learn to do it myself. But I am running out of ideas and really need some help. What I want to do is pretty simple: I would like to input an angle into the serial monitor and have my servo motor turn to that angle.

The problem is that I can't seem to get the Arduino to read the numbers I input together, which makes sense because it IS "serial" communication, but there must be a way to do this right? I am able to get the Arduino to print many different characters at once, but that doesn't help because I need to be able to use the entire value to control my servo. Please help me!

Below is the code I found and was trying to use
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

int  serIn; //var that will hold the bytes in read from the serialBuffer

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

}

int thing;

void loop () {
if(Serial.available() > 0 && Serial.available() < 4){
    //inform that Arduino heard you saying something
    Serial.print("Angle value recieved:");

//keep reading and printing from serial untill there are bytes in the serial buffer
     while (Serial.available()>0){
        serIn = Serial.read();   //read Serial       
        Serial.print(serIn, BYTE);    //prints the character just read
     }

//the serial buffer is over just go to the line (or pass your favorite stop char)               
    Serial.println(BYTE);
  }

//slows down the visualization in the terminal
  delay(1000);
}

Msquare

First fix:
Code: [Select]
if(Serial.available() > 0 && Serial.available() < 4){
If you somehow get behind in reading from serial, then this if will stop it from reading once you are more than 4 bytes behind.