Go Down

Topic: GS1903 Strips sent from China instead of WS2811 can any one help (Read 192 times) previous topic - next topic

shanosb

Hi, I am fairly new to the wonderful world of Arduino my only other experience before this was flashing a cartridge reseter for my XYZ Davinci 3d printer.

I ordered a 5m strip of LEDs they were supposed to be WS2811 50/50 30led per meter but when they arrived the IC is a GS1903.

My plan is to use adalight and ambibox to make an ambilight setup for my cinema screen in my mancave (will post pics when its a bit further along).

Can anyone advise on what settings to enter or even better provide a sketch that I could flash to my arduino to get the lights up and working.

I did a quick search on the forum but I could not find a resolution for the GS1903 lights and there appears to be next to know information about them online.

Kindest regards and thanks in advance Shane :'(

PaulRB

Shane, have you tried a sketch for ws2812 to see if that works?

What rating of PSU are you using? (Volts & Amps)

Have you searched this forum fori GS1903?

shanosb

Hi, I am using a modified Dell computer power supply 12v 18a output, I have tried flashing with ws2811, ws2812, ws2812b and usc1903 still no joy

The only previous mention on the strips was a little vague, only leaving me more confused.

PaulRB

I am using a modified Dell computer power supply 12v 18a
Modified how?

Are you sure your LEDs require 12V supply? If they need 5V then you may have already blown them by connecting 12V.

shanosb

They are marked as 12v on the packet so hopefully not blown them up! fingers crossed anyway but now I am worried that if they are also marked as being WS2811 but are not... who knows what voltage they should be. :(

PaulRB

They are marked as 12v on the packet so hopefully not blown them up! fingers crossed anyway but now I am worried that if they are also marked as being WS2811 but are not... who knows what voltage they should be. :(