Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: wiring up a sharp GP2Y0A02 distance sensor  (Read 126 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Background Information
I'm new to everything arduino and electronics, and c++.     smiley-lol
Having said that, I'm trying to follow the tutorial listed here:  
http://blog.miguelgrinberg.com/post/building-an-arduino-robot-part-ii-programming-the-arduino

I have a sharp distance sensor, model number 2y0a02-f-2z .  I couldn't find the datasheet for this specific model but i got one that looks similar... found here:http://sharp-world.com/products/device/lineup/data/pdf/datasheet/gp2y0a02_e.pdf

The distance sensor in the tutorial has 2 inputs - a trigger and an echo.  Mine only has one wire for the input.  So I've wired everything up exactly the same as the tutorial shows on the bread board diagram, except that instead of having 2 inputs (A0 and A1) I only have A0.   So, if you ignore the "purple" wire that is connected to A1 in the tutorial's wiring diagram for the distance sensor, that's basically what I have.

Problem
I compiled and ran the code but it doesn't return any distances.  I waved my hand infront of it really close but it doesn't detect it.

What I've tried so far
I've tried to confirm that I've wired it up properly.  I double checked that:
  - my "red" wire on the distance sensor, labelled Vcc is lined up with the 5v on the breadboard...
 -  the black to wire labelled GND to the ground on the board.
 - the yello wire labelled Vo is matched up with the wire that goes from the breadboard to A0 on the arduino board.  it matches the "orange" wire in the tutorial's wiring diagram.

In the code, I've tried to pass 0 (zero), or null in place of the ECHO_PIN, but that didn't fx the problem.
NewPing DistanceSensor(TRIGGER_PIN, 0, MAX_DISTANCE);
NewPing DistanceSensor(TRIGGER_PIN, null, MAX_DISTANCE);

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Update 1