Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Uno for flight simulator input  (Read 4139 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Gents,

I am new to Arduino and fairly new to electronics. But I am highly skilled in CNC machining and welding.
I am making a full scale F-16 flight simulator and need to interface mechanical devices to the PC.

I have a few questions.
1) I want to use the Uno to sense buttons as imput and send keystrokes to a flight simulator.
    The first simulator I want to interface to is Falcon4 I have all of the keystroke information needed.

2) I just noticed the new mega which has many more inputs, that might be the better choice.

3) I was reading thru a article about virtual keyboard, but now I am confused. It sounds like the
    Uno can act like a virtual keyboard without going thru those extra steps.

4) If anyone has info on how to make the uno and the new mega sense button inputs and send keystrokes to the flight sim computer would you please provide a link or any info?

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 10:43:41 pm by slingshot » Logged

Wellington, New Zealand
View Profile

Awesome project!

One way you could send key inputs to a host PC would be to program the UNO to be a Keyboard HID device.  This means that when its plugged into the host PC the UNO appears to be a USB keyboard and it can send any of the keys that a USB keyboard can send.  You can also send up to 6 simultaneous key presses (i.e. as if 6 keys are being held down).

To do this you need to flash new firmware to the atmega8u2 on the UNO using DFU mode.  You can find the Keyboard HID firmware, a demo sketch, and details on DFU flashing on my blog here: Arduino Hacking.