Batteries, howto make a board that can run a year?

Arduino boys & girls,

To put it simple, how to power the Arduino as long as possible with a battery, accu, or whatsoever as long as it's not connected to the net supply? I already asked this in the past in this thread:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1275053486

that was quite a while ago though. Didn't had proper time to really work it out. But basically the advise was to put the board & XBee asleep as much as possible. That makes sense of course, but when we measured the board, it was still using 10 mA in sleepmodus I believe. It could be a little bit lower or higher, I don't precisely remember anymore. But the conclusion was that the average fat 9Volt battery would only last for a week or so.

Now I'm just a programmer, so maybe you guys have some tips to either reduce the power consumption further, or extreme batteries. Space is not a problem, we can easily place 8 AA batteries inside the box if that would be needed. Or maybe chosing another Arduino board could help as well (though I'm not sure if it can interface with the XBee & sensor then).

The situation for this particular device:

• Mobile logging device (captures temp & humid, sends it to a server). Box can be placed anywhere (which is why we can't use netpower)
  • Battery should live for about a year if possible
  • Arduino Duemilanove
  • XBee shield on top
  • 5 Volt Humidity / Temperature sensor (interface via serialport)
  • Module should send a few packets to the server each ~10 minutes
  • If possible, it should take a few (4 to 10) samples over those 10 minutes to make an average. That means it has to wake up for a short while, but without needing the XBee.

Cheers,
Rick