Go Down

Topic: UNO Power down (Read 4307 times) previous topic - next topic

HexadecTom

May 08, 2011, 01:33 am Last Edit: May 08, 2011, 01:37 am by HexadecTom Reason: 1
Is there a way to power down or sleep mode the uno ? I'd like to write different Sketches with the board plugged in without it continually running another program. I know this may sound silly but it's just a personal preference. I've looked over the forum for about an hour now and the only thing I come up with is >running an empty Sketch< which I tried but it doesn't work. Unless empty Sketch means a Sketch with some type of end command, then can someone point me to that end command Sketch ? Thanks

PS I'm sure the answer is either in my book or on the site somewhere but if someone can point me to it I promise I'll research much more before posting in the future.

Actually I'm pretty pleased, I'm new to Arduino but I've been goofing around with MC's for about three years now. I purchased the UNO about 9 months ago but ran into a brick wall getting it to work with XP. I recently purchased a new notebook with Windows 7 and decided to give it another try and this time it was a piece of cake so I'm looking forward to tons of fun.

Jack Christensen

May 08, 2011, 02:06 am Last Edit: May 08, 2011, 02:09 am by Jack Christensen Reason: 1
That's not at all silly and yes these things are tons of fun! The ATmega328P is pretty serious about power management. There are six sleep modes, plus many of the built-in peripherals (an oxymoron, but that's what Atmel calls them! ... e.g. the ADC or comparator, watchdog timer, etc.) can be turned off.