Go Down

Topic: MOSFET's? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Anybody have suggestions for MOSFET transistors that work with the 5V from an Arduino? I'm looking for something from DigiKey or Mouser.

I read that part# FQP50N06L from Fairchild was 'logic-level', but I am new to datasheets, and I'm not sure what to look for.

Build your own sentry gun! http://psg.rudolphlabs.com

You found the magic phrase, which is indeed "logic level". The key is to find a guaranteed value for Rds(on) when the gate voltage is 4.5V. For example, the NDP6060L:

When searching at Digi-Key our Mouser use search options that limit the search to those MOSFET's which have guaranteed Rds(on) values at 4.5V and you should be finding all the logic-level MOSFET's.

The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, speaker, microphone, light sensor, potentiometer, pushbuttons

If you're driving lots of current, make sure you get a part with low Rds also, like down in the 8-10ohm (0.010 , 0.008) range. The lower you get, the cooler it will run.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

I've had good experience (a single project) with RFP30N06LE (coincidentally bought at Sparkfun)

Can anyone recommend a good small LL FET? Say in a SOT23 package, 200mA or thereabouts. I seem to be having all sorts of trouble finding one.

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

How about a 2N7002? It's only <100mA but it's super-cheap. Otherwise, the IRLML2402 is a good choice: Rds(on) of 250mOhms at 4.5V gate voltage. Rated for 20V.

The DIN Rail Mount kit for Arduino: quickly attach your Arduino to standard DIN rail

Thanks RC, they both look good.

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Go Up

Please enter a valid email to subscribe

Confirm your email address

We need to confirm your email address.